Last Update: 02/14/2024

Office of State Public Defender

Website: opd.mt.gov
Org Chart: opd.mt.gov/about

Scroll down to find local office contact information

Public Defender Division

Local Office Contacts 

 

 

REGION 1

(Kalispell, Polson, Missoula, Hamilton, Butte, Anaconda areas)

Regional Deputy Public Defender, Robert Greenwell RGreenwell@mt.gov 406-523-5140

KALISPELL

723 5th Ave. E., Suite 100, Kalispell MT 59901
PH: 406-751-6080
Fax: 406-751-6083

OPDKalispell@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Nick Aemisegger NAemisegger@mt.gov 406-751-6080
Managing Attorney, Alisha Rapkoch Alisha.Rapkoch@mt.gov 406-751-6080
Office Manager, Anna Garza AGarza@mt.gov 406-751-6080

POLSON

50183 US Highway 93, Polson MT 59860
Ph: 406-833-6080
Fax: 406-885-6089

OPDPolson@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Sterling Laudon Sterling.Laudon@mt.gov 406-883-6080
Office Manager, Anna Garza AGarza@mt.gov 406-751-6080

MISSOULA

610 N Woody, Missoula, MT 59802
PH: 406-523-5140
Fax: 406-523-5141

 OPDMissoula@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Meghan Benson Meghan.Benson@mt.gov 406-523-5140
Managing Attorney, Hailey Forcella Hailey.Forcella@mt.gov 406-523-5140
Managing Attorney, Jeavon Lang Jeavon.Lang2@mt.gov 406-523-5140
Office Manager, Melanie Dodge MDodge2@mt.gov 406-523-5140

HAMILTON

300 South 2nd Street, Hamilton MT 59840
PH: 406-363-7999
Fax: 406-375-6105

OPDHamilton@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, John Boyd John.Boyd@mt.gov 406-363-7999
Office Manager, Melanie Dodge MDodge2@mt.gov 406-523-5140

BUTTE

44 W. Park, Butte MT 59701
PH: 406-496-6680
Fax: 406-496-6699

OPDButte@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Sherry Staedler SStaedler@mt.gov   406-496-6680
Managing Attorney, Morgan Smith MorganSmith@mt.gov    406-563-6586
Office Manager, Chelsie Cortez CCortez@mt.gov 406-496-6680

ANACONDA

118 Cherry Street, Anaconda MT 59711
Ph:   406-563-6586
Fax:   406-563-4258

OPDAnaconda@mt.gov

A Managing Attorney, Sherry Staedler SStaedler@mt.gov   406-496-6680
Managing Attorney, Morgan Smith MorganSmith@mt.gov 406-563-6586
Office Manager, Chelsie Cortez CCortez@mt.gov 406-496-6680

REGION 2

(Great Falls, Helena, Havre, Lewistown, Bozeman areas)

Regional Deputy Public Defender Annie DeWolf ADeWolf@mt.gov 406-582-2450

GREAT FALLS

615 2nd Ave. N., Great Falls, MT 59403
PH: 406-770-3200
Fax: 406-770-3229

OPDGreatFalls@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Matt McKittrick MMckittrick@mt.gov 406-770-3200
Managing Attorney, Claire Lettow CLettow@mt.gov 406-770-3200
Office Manager, Jason Kindsvatter JKindsvatter@mt.gov 406-770-3200

HELENA

139 N. Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601
PH: 406-444-0104
Fax: 406-444-2669

OPDHelena@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Suzanne Seburn SSeburn@mt.gov 406-444-0104
Managing Attorney, Marisa O'Sullivan Marisa.O'Sullivan@mt.gov 406-444-0104
Office Manager, Christina Pfisterer ChristinaPfisterer@mt.gov 406-444-0104

HAVRE

109 2nd St. W., NW Entrance, Havre MT 59501
PH: 406-265-2199
Fax: 406-265-0174

OPDHavre@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Casey Moore CMoore2@mt.gov 406-265-2199
Office Manager, Jamie Moore JamieMoore@mt.gov   406-265-2199

GLASGOW

311 Klein Ave, Glasgow MT 59230
PH: 406-265-2199
Fax: 406-265-0174

OPDGlasgow@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Casey Moore CMoore2@mt.gov 406-265-2199
Office Manager, Jamie Moore JamieMoore@mt.gov   406-265-2199

LEWISTOWN

44 W. Park, Butte MT 59701
PH: 406-535-3703
Fax:406-535-3731

OPDLewistown@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Casey Moore CMoore2@mt.gov   406-265-2199
Office Manager, Jamie Moore JamieMoore@mt.gov   406-265-2199

BOZEMAN

77 Discovery Drive, Bozeman, MT 59718
PH: 406-582-2450
Fax:406-582-2451

OPDBozeman@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Buddy Rutzke RRutzke@mt.gov 406-582-2450
Managing Attorney, Clare Mack Clare.Mack@mt.gov 406-582-2450
Office Manager, Andrew Rouse Andrew.Rouse@mt.gov 406-582-2450

REGION 3

(Billings, Glendive, Miles City areas)

Regional Deputy Public Defender, Mandi Gould Mandi.Gould@mt.gov 406-256-6861

BILLINGS

207 N. Broadway, Suite 201, Billings MT 59101
Ph:406-256-6861
Fax:406-256-6899

OPDBillings@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Joseph Zavatsky JZavatsky@mt.gov 406-896-4951
Managing Attorney, Vacant
Managing Attorney, Vacant
Managing Attorney, Sarah Kottke Sarah.Kottke@mt.gov 406-896-4951
Office Manager, Debby Cochrane  Debra.Cochrane@mt.gov 406-896-4951

GLENDIVE

100 1/2 S. Merrill, Suite 3, Glendive MT 59330
Ph:406-987-6010
Fax:406-987-6012

OPDGlendive@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Vacant
Office Manager, Debby Cochrane Debra.Cochrane@mt.gov 406-896-4951

MILES CITY

11 S. 7th St., Suite 100, Miles City MT 59301
Ph:   406-851-7080
Fax:  406-987-6012

OPDMilesCity@mt.gov

Managing Attorney, Vacant
Office Manager, Debby Cochrane Debra.Cochrane@mt.gov 406-896-4951

Family Defense Bureau  

610 Woody Street, Missoula, MT 59802
Ph:  888-241-8657

FamilyDefense@mt.gov

Family Defense Bureau ChiefKelly Driscoll Kelly.Driscoll@mt.gov 888-241-8657
Office Manager,  Craig McKillop CMckillop@mt.gov 888-241-8657

Administration

OPDCSD@mt.gov

Director, Brett Schandelson Brett.Schandelson@mt.gov 406-523-5166
Executive Assistant, Steffanie Jirsa Sjirsa@mt.gov 406-523-5179
Public Defender Division Administrator, Brian C. Smith   BSmith@mt.gov 406-444-5381
Appellate Defender Division Administrator, Chad Wright ChadWright@mt.gov 406-444-9505
Conflict Defender Division Administrator, Eldena Bear Don't Walk EBearDontWalk@mt.gov 406-883-6082
Central Services Division Administrator, Koan Mercer KMercer@mt.gov 406-523-5140
Public Information Officer, Andrea Moore Andrea.Moore@mt.gov 406-496-6095
HR Supervisor, Aaron Douglas Aaron.Douglas@mt.gov 406-444-9049
Training Coordinator, Kelli Sather KSather@mt.gov 406-523-5149
Contracts Manager, Jamie Hughes David.Hughes@mt.gov 406-247-4855
Development and Operations Bureau Chief, Chris Thomas CThomas@mt.gov 406-444-5387

Accounting

Accounting Bureau Chief, Ricki Jones Erica.Jones@mt.gov 406-444-0164
Eligibility Supervisor, Coreen Hash Coreen.Hash@mt.gov   406-444-7727

Information Technology

Information Technology Supervisor, Jeb Myren JebMyren@mt.gov 406-523-5146

Conflict Defender Division

Local Office Contacts 

REGION A

(Kalispell, Polson, Missoula, Hamilton, Butte, Anaconda areas)

Managing Public Defender, Westen Young Westen.Young@mt.gov 406-329-1300
Managing Public Defender, Suzanne Marshall-Malloy Suzanne.Marshall@mt.gov 406-329-1300

Missoula 

111 N. Higgins Ste 300, Missoula MT 59802
Ph:   406-329-1300
Fax:   406-549-8152

BUTTE

44 W. Park, Butte MT 59701
Ph: 406-496-6680
Fax: 406-496-6699

OPDButteConflict@mt.gov

Office Manager, Lynn MacMillan LMacMillan@mt.gov 406-496-6385

REGION B 

(Great Falls, Helena, Havre, Glasgow, Lewistown, Bozeman areas)

Managing Public Defender, George Isham George.Isham@mt.gov 406-604-7581

Great Falls

600 Central Ave, Suite 327, Great Falls MT 59401
Ph:   406-604-7581
Fax:   406-604-7585

 

Bozeman

77 Discovery Drive, Bozeman, MT 59718
Ph:406-582-2450
Fax:406-582-2451

OPDBozemanConflict@mt.gov

REGION C

(Billings, Glendive, Miles City areas)

Managing Public Defender, Natasha Fernando Natasha.Fernando@mt.gov 406-247-4857

Billings

207 N. Broadway CO-15, Billings MT 59101
Ph: 406- 247-4857
FAX 406- 247-4859

PUBLIC DEFENDER DIVISION 

111 N. Higgins, Suite 300 Missoula, MT 59802
Ph: 406-444-5381

APPELLATE DEFENDER DIVISION 

555 Fuller Ave, Helena, MT 59620
Ph:   406-444-9505
Fax:   406-442-6227

Helena

OPDHelenaAppellate@mt.gov

Missoula

OPDMissoulaAppellate@mt.gov

CONFLICT DEFENDER DIVISION 

17 W Galena, Butte, MT 59701
Ph:   406-496-6385

CENTRAL SERVICES DIVISION

17 W Galena, Butte, MT 59701
Ph:  406-496-6080
FAX 
406-496-6098

Email Us