Public Instruction, Office of

Enter Title

OFFICE OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

SUPERINTENDENT'S OFFICE

P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501

General Information, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501

444-3095

Toll Free Number

888-231-9393

Web site

opi.mt.gov/

  

SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

1227 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, 

Helena, Montana

Superintendent of Public Instruction, Elsie Arntzen

444-3095

Deputy Superintendent of Operations, Jule.Walker@mt.gov, Jule Walker

444-7325

Executive Office Administrator, Phoebe.Williams2@mt.gov, Phoebe Williams

444-3160

Deputy Superintendent of Education Services, Susie.Hedalen@mt.gov, Susie Hedalen

444-3449

Land Board Liaison, Patrick.Beddow@mt.gov, Patrick Beddow

444-5643

Director of Communication and Federal Relations, Dylan.Klapmeier@mt.gov, Dylan Klapmeier

444-3559

Legislative Liaison, John.Perkins@mt.gov, John Perkins

444-5658

Administrative Clerk, Virginia.Diaz@mt.gov, Virginia Diaz

444-5643

FAX

444-2893

 Legal Division

1227 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor,  Helena, Montana  

Chief Legal Counsel, Kyle.Moen@mt.gov, Kyle Moen

444-4402

Early Assistance Program Director, MGibbs@mt.gov, Mandi Gibbs

444-5664

Paralegal Assistant, Vacant

444-3172

Paralegal, Bemarlow@mt.gov, Bev Marlow

444-4402

FAX

444-2893

Educator Licensure (Certification) Program

1201 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Educator Licensure Program Manager, Cert@mt.gov, Kristine Thatcher

444-2580

Licensing Specialist, Cert@mt.gov, Lorri Weiss

444-3150

Licensing Specialist, Cert@mt.gov, Bekki Flanagan

444-3150

Renewal Units/Approved Providers

444-3150

Fax

444-0743

  Human Resources  

1300 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Human Resource Manager, TAntonick@mt.gov, Tom Antonick

444-3161

EEO /Title IX/ ADA Coordinator TAntonick@mt.gov, Tom Antonick

444-3161

Administrative Specialist, Kristen.Bokovoy@mt.gov, Kristen Bokovoy

444-2417

FAX

444-1373

  Human Resources  

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Rm. #138, Helena, Montana 

Human Resource Specialist, DMunro@mt.gov, Dennie Munro

444-2673

Human Resource Specialist, KSchaan@mt.gov, Kristy Schaan

444-2673

FAX

444-1369

Receptionist 1300 11th Avenue, Helena, Montana  

Destiny.Sjoden@mt.gov, Destiny Sjoden

444-3693

Accreditation and Educator Preparation Division  

1300 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana 

Division Administrator, LVPeterson@mt.gov, Linda Vrooman Peterson

444-5726

Accreditation Program Director, PMuir@mt.gov, Patty Muir

444-4317

Accreditation Data Specialist, NMiller5@mt.gov, Nathan Miller

444-2410

Administrative Specialist, Vacant

444-3114

Data Control Technician, Harlan.Reidmohr@mt.gov, Harlan Reidmohr

444-1852

FAX

444-1373

Content Standards & Instruction

1300 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, CBartow@mt.gov, Colet Bartow

444-3583

Professional Learning Data Specialist,  MO'Rourke@mt.gov, Marjorie O'Rourke

444-3538

English Language Arts & Literacy Instructional Coordinator, CMock-Stutz@mt.gov, Christy Mock-Stutz

444-0736

Mathematics Instructional Coordinator, Marisa.Graybill@mt.gov, Marisa Graybill

444-0706

Professional Learning Coordinator, Vacant

444-4422
Science Instructional Coordinator, MMcCarthy5@mt.gov, Michelle McCarthy

444-3537

Teacher Learning Hub Coordinator, JBryant3@mt.gov,  Jessica Bryant

444-3557

Teacher Learning Hub Project Specialist, Cari.Russell@mt.gov, Cari Russell

444-4422

Administrative Assistant, WArlint@mt.gov, Wanda Arlint

444-0716

FAX

444-1373

   Career, Technical, and Adult Education Division      

1300 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena Montana 

Division Administrator, Career, Technical, and Adult Education, TEyer@mt.gov, T.J. Eyer

444-7915

Accountability Specialist, CHendricks@mt.gov, Christy Hendricks

444-9019

Adult Education Unit Manager, Katie.Madsen@mt.gov, Katie Madsen

444-4443

Program Assistant for Adult Basic Education, EFuller@mt.gov,  Emily Fuller

444-1691

Agricultural Education Specialist, Shannon.Boswell@mt.gov, Shannon Boswell

444-4451

Business and Marketing Education Specialist, ESwenson@mt.gov,  Eric Swenson

444-7991

CTE Educational Transition Specialist, Vacant

 

Marketing Program Coordinator, Austin.Schweitzer@mt.gov, Austin Schweitzer

444-2059

Family and Consumer Sciences Specialist, MVincent2@mt.gov,  Megan Vincent

444-3599

Health Science Education Specialist, RErlandsen@mt.gov, Renee Erlandsen

994-6986

Trades and Technology Specialist, DMichalsky@mt.gov,  Don Michalsky

444-4452

Veterans Program Manager, KGemlich@mt.gov, Kenneth Gemlich

444-4122

FAX

444-1373

Student Support Services Division

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, FPodobnik@mt.gov, Frank Podobnik

444-4428

Assistant Division Administrator, DTrerise@mt.gov, Dick Trerise

444-4429

Administrative Assistant, KBrown8@mt.gov, Kelley Brown

444-5661

Administrative Officer, MWallis@mt.gov, Marlene Wallis

444-2504

Administrative Assistant, MNiemi@mt.gov, Melissa Niemi

444-0037

Assessment & Accountability Specialist, YField@mt.gov, Yvonne Field

444-4940

Data Accountability Specialist, ARainey@mt.gov, Anne Rainey

444-4430

Data Accountability Specialist, MGraff@mt.gov, Mary Graff

444-0685

School Improvement Specialist, Julie.Murgel@mt.gov, Julie Murgel

444-7432

Early Assistance Program Director, MGibbs@mt.gov, Mandi Gibbs

444-5664

School Improvement Specialist, RMiller3@mt.gov, Ruth Miller

444-1579

Autism Specialist, DDoty@mt.gov, Doug Doty

459-5303

CSPD Specialist, AYoung3@mt.gov, Annette Young

444-0299

School Improvement Specialist, DMcCarthy@mt.gov, Dani McCarthy

444-0452

Continuing Education Unit Manager, Jenifer.Cline@mt.gov, Jenifer Cline

444-4426

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Theodore.Spas@mt.gov, Theodore Spas

444-5661

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Margaret.Tryon@mt.gov, Margaret Tryon

444-5661

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, AVerploegen@mt.gov, Ann Verploegen

444-5661

School Improvement Unit Manager, DKimmet2@mt.gov, Dale Kimmet

444-0742

School Improvement Specialist, MSwanby@mt.gov, Marla Swanby

444-0044

School Instructional Case Manager, DCockrell-Gilsoul@mt.gov, Debi Cockrell-Gilsoul

444-3124

School Instructional Case Manager, Marilyn.Weber@mt.gov, Marilyn Weber

444-0466

MTSS/MBI Consultant, DDesJarlais@mt.gov, Denise DesJarlais

855-2126

FAX

444-3924

American Indian Education For All Unit

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Director of American Indian Education for All, Zachariah.Hawkins@mt.gov, Zack Hawkins

444-0708

Indian Education Specialist, Curriculum and Materials Development Lead Worker, MJetty@mt.gov,  Mike Jetty

444-0720

Indian Education Specialist, SMorsette@mt.gov, Stephen Morsette

444-0754

Indian Education Specialist, JStadum@mt.gov, Jennifer Stadum

444-0725

American Indian Student Achievement Unit

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Director of American Indian Student Achievement, Michelle.Mitchell@mt.gov, Michelle Mitchell

444-3013

Indian Education Administrative Assistant, JFranke@mt.gov, Joan Franke

444-3694

American Indian Youth Development Coordinator, DWetzel2@mt.gov, Don Wetzel

444-4527

Indian Student Achievement Specialist, Joycelyn.Desrosier@mt.gov, Joycelyn Desrosier

444-3642

Heart Butte School Board Coach, Vacant

 

Heart Butte Transformational Leader, Vacant

   

Heart Butte Instructional Leader, Lona.Burns@mt.gov, Lona Running Wolf

845-2040

Hays Lodge Pole School Board Coach, THanson3@mt.gov, Todd Hanson

262-2403

Hays Lodge Pole Transformational Leader, DMcGee@mt.gov, Daniel McGee

876-3262 

Billings, Caring Schools Coordinator/SAMHSA Grant Manager, SIronShooter@mt.gov, Stephanie Iron Shooter

530-4364

Billings, SAMHSA Grant Project Coordinator, KTwoTwo@mt.gov, Karla Two Two

969-6505

Billings, Wrap-Around Coach, Crystal.Hickman@mt.gov, Crystal Hickman

839-6734 

Billings, Wrap-Around Coach, Roberta.Bettelyoun@mt.gov, Roberta Bettelyoun

850-8614 

Brockton, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Estelle.Bighorn@mt.gov, Estelle Bighorn

650-0425 

Crow/Hardin, Wrap-Around Facilitator,  Kenny.Shane@mt.gov, Kenneth Shane

638-2252

Billings, Family Engagement Specialist, CJackson@mt.gov,  Christine Jackson

230-0608

Frazer, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Vacant

 

Harlem, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Nicole.Brockie@mt.gov, Nicole Brockie

353-2287

Hays Lodge Pole, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Patricia.Carrywater@mt.gov, Patti Carrywater

673-3120

Heart Butte, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Heidi.RunningWolf@mt.gov, Heidi Running Wolf

338-3344

Lame Deer, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Geraldine.Whiteman@mt.gov, Geraldine Whiteman

477-8900

Poplar, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Crystal.Cummins@mt.gov, Crystal Cummins

768-6833

Educational Opportunity and Equity Division

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

School Improvement & ESSA Accountability Coordinator, DHunsaker@mt.gov, Debbie Hunsaker

444-0733 

Title I, Federal Grants Unit Director and Private School Ombudsman, JOConnor2@mt.gov,  Jack O'Connor

444-3083

Title I & Homeless Specialist, HDenny@mt.gov, Heather Denny

444-2036

Federal Grants Manager, Vacant

 

Administrative Assistant, SHarlow@mt.gov, Sheri Harlow

444-5660

Preschool Grant Unit Director, TFerriter@mt.gov, Tara Ferriter-Smith

444-0758

Administrative Assistant, AZietz@mt.gov, Amber Zietz

444-4431

Preschool Specialist, Jody.Lehman@mt.gov, Jody Lehman

444-2736

Preschool Specialist, MKampfe@mt.gov, Maureen Kampfe

446-0224

Preschool Specialist, Sally.Hicks@mt.gov, Sally Hicks

868-6983 

Preschool Specialist, JDarlington@mt.gov, Jennifer Darlington

386-2453 

Preschool Specialist, LHales@mt.gov, Lisa Hales

396-7565 

Title I Instructional Innovations Fax

444-1373

Migrant Education Director, ABranzspall@mt.gov, Angela Branz-Spall

444-2423

Montana Comprehensive Literacy Program Manager, TBarclay2@mt.gov, Terri Barclay

444-0753

Instructional Innovations Specialist, LTuss@mt.gov, Liz Tuss

560-7076

Montana Comprehensive Literacy Specialist,  Rachel.Anderberg@mt.gov, Rachel Anderberg

303-552-1332

Administrative Assistant, Vacant

444-0864

Instructional Innovations Specialist, GPoole@mt.gov, Gwen Poole

672-3022

School Support Unit Director, KTiefenthaler@mt.gov, Kathi Tiefenthaler

444-1872

School Support/Title III Specialist, Crystal.Andrews@mt.gov, Crystal Andrews

444-3482

Title II-A, V, N & D Specialist, and Foster Care Point of Contact, Carrie.Kouba@mt.gov, Carrie Kouba

444-0794

Administrative Assistant, LGriffin3@mt.gov, Lisa Griffin

444-0686

Title I School Support Fax

444-1373

Health Enhancement and Safety Division

1201 11th Avenue, 1st and 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, Vacant

444-0829

Administrative Assistant, LWetherall@mt.gov, Leona Wetherall

444-0751

Coordinated School Health Unit Director, TMoseman@mt.gov, Tracy Moseman

444-3000

School Health Coordinator, SCourt@mt.gov, Susan Court

444-3178

Emergency Planning; 21st Century; and Suspension-Expulsion Data Specialist, ADomino@mt.gov, Amanda Domino

444-1964

21st Century Coordinator, Vacant

444-3519

Title IV A Program Manager, HMook2@mt.gov, Holly Mook

444-0773

Tobacco Prevention Education Specialist, KMinard@mt.gov, Kris Minard

444-0785

FAX

444-2955

School Nutrition Programs Director, CEmerson@mt.gov, Christine Emerson

444-2502

School Nutrition Assistant Director, CMcGoven@mt.gov, Camille McGoven

444-4415

Administrative Assistant, CHickman@mt.gov, Clay Hickman

   444-2501 

Data Analyst, AlieW@mt.gov, Alie Wolf

444-4413

Summer Food Service Program Manager, EDunklee@mt.gov, Emily Dunklee

461-9917

Stop School Violence Program Manager, JWesterhold@mt.gov, Jessi Westerhold

444-4706

Program Specialist, Caroline.Rowe@mt.gov, Caroline Rowe

437-4688

School Breakfast Program Manager, Deborah.Jones@mt.gov, Deb Jones

444-3532

School Nutrition Program Specialist, Erin.Turner@mt.gov, Erin Turner

559-7588

Fresh Fruit Vegetable Program Manager, Vacant

444-3532

Food Distribution Program Manager, Pamela.Fruh@mt.gov, Pam Fruh

444-4412

FAX (School Nutrition Programs)

444-1488

Traffic Education Director, FPenner-ray@mt.gov Fran Penner-Ray

444-4396

Program Specialist, PBorneman@mt.gov, Patricia Borneman

444-4432

Non-OPI Health

Immunization, DPHHS

444-6978

TB Testing Requirements, DPHHS

444-0275

  

DEPARTMENT OF OPERATIONS

1227 11th Avenue. 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Department of Operations Chief Financial Officer, KBailey2@mt.gov,  Ken Bailey

444-2562

Reception/Referral 1227 11th Ave, Vonnie.Evans@mt.gov, Vonnie Evans Mon-Tues. & Wed. a.m & Catherine.McNeil@mt.gov,  Catherine McNeil Wed. pm & Thurs-Friday 

444-3680

FAX

444-1369

  

Assessment Unit

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana 

State Assessment Director, AMcGrath@mt.gov, Ashley McGrath

444-3656

Assessment Specialist, Duane.Schlabach@mt.gov, Duane Schlabach

444-0748

Data Control Specialist, MFortner@mt.gov, Marcy Fortner

444-3511

NAEP State Coordinator, SNiederstadt@mt.gov, Shantel Niederstadt

444-3450

Fax

444-3924

Centralized Services Division

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, JPhillips3@mt.gov, Jay Phillips

444-4523

Accounting Supervisor, MBirlut@mt.gov Monica Birlut

444-2561

Accounts Receivable Accountant, HZimmer@mt.gov, Heather Zimmer

444-1961

Budget Analyst, Barbara.Quinn@mt.gov, Barbara Quinn

444-2563

Project Systems Analyst, Jennifer.Schofield@mt.gov, Jennifer Schofield

444-3471

E-Grants Designer, KBeagles@mt.gov, Karla Beagles

444-0764

Payroll, Randa.Renenger@mt.gov, Randa Renenger

444-4407

Contract and Procurement Manager, CMonroe@mt.gov, Carol Monroe

444-4404

State and Federal Grants Accountant, LBlanton@mt.gov, Leisa Blanton

444-4403

Procurement Technician, RNielsen@mt.gov, Randy Nielsen

444-3504

State and Federal Grants Accountant, WWilliams2@mt.gov, Whitney Williams

444-3408

Accountant, Paula.Clinch@mt.gov, Paula Clinch

444-0768 

Accounting Technician, PNiemi@mt.gov, Patty Niemi

444-3692

Mail Room, LCook2@mt.gov, Lee Cook

444-3148

FAX

444-1369

  

School Finance Division

1227 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, Kara.Flath@mt.gov, Kara Flath

444-3249

Auditor, Dan.Moody@mt.gov, Daniel Moody

444-0701

Budget Analyst, PTaylor2@mt.gov, Paul Taylor

444-1257

Financial Specialist, ROlson2@mt.gov, Rehanna Olson

444-1960

Financial Specialist, KWanner@mt.gov, Kathleen Wanner

444-9852

Financial Specialist, NMerala@mt.gov, Nica Merala

444-4401

Financial Specialist, DRosenthal@mt.gov, Donell Rosenthal

444-3024

Financial Specialist, Keri.Ludwig@mt.gov, Keri Ludwig

444-0783

Financial Specialist, NThuotte@mt.gov, Nicole Thuotte

444-4524

Computer Support Specialist, DCasey@mt.gov, Deb Casey

444-3096

FAX

444-0509

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AND DATA MANAGEMENT DEPARTMENT

 ITADMD Chief Data Officer, MSweeney@mt.gov, Michael Sweeney

444-4411

 

  Information Technology Services Division

1450 Hiawatha Street, Helena, Montana

School Computer Equipment Program, SBuswell@mt.gov, Scott Buswell

495-9695

FAX

444-1369

IT Operations Bureau

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

IT Operations Manager, MMurray3@mt.gov, Mike Murray

444-3536

Database Administrator, DPeterson2@mt.gov, Don Peterson

444-3539

Network Systems Analyst, Mark.Pomerleau@mt.gov, Mark Pomerleau

444-9690

Lead Network Administrator, Vacant

444-

Desktop Systems Analyst, DDickson2@mt.gov, Dylan Dickson

444-0087

Help Desk Technician, BYbarra@mt.gov, Briana Ybarra

444-0087

ComputerSupport Specialist, Vacant

444-3448

Computer Systems Analyst, CTenneson@mt.gov, Cindie Tenneson

444-1962

Computer Systems Analyst, LGeske@mt.gov, Lynnette Geske

444-9860

Computer Systems Analyst, VThacker@mt.gov, Vicki Thacker

444-9870

Computer Systems Analyst, Cindy.Morrison@mt.gov, Cindy Morrison

444-0730

FAX

444-1369

Systems Development Bureau

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Systems Development Bureau Chief, Vacant

 

Business Analyst/Project Manager, ABauer@mt.gov, Anne Bauer

444-0727

Business Analyst/Project Manager, CPennington@mt.gov, Carmen Pennington

444-0726

School Staffing Project Manager, DMurphy@mt.gov, Danielle Murphy

444-4069

Business Analyst/Project Manager, Tara.Dempsey@mt.gov, Tara Dempsey

444-4607

Computer Systems Analyst, RHoffman2@mt.gov, Robert Hoffman

444-1641

Computer Systems Analyst, SMeredith@mt.gov, Steve Meredith

444-3563

Web Developer, Vacant

444-2765

Security Officer, AGrover@mt.gov, Alan Grover

444-3502

FAX

444-1369

Data Operations

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana 

Data Operations Bureau Chief, JEreth@mt.gov, Jamey Ereth

444-4409

Achievement Gap Analyst, Vacant

444-3642

Assessment Analyst, SFurois@mt.gov, Scott Furois

444-3545

Ed Facts Coordinator, Meghann.Spring@mt.gov, Meghann Spring

444-0793

EOE Research Analyst, Silvana.Hackett@mt.gov, Silvana Hackett

444-7490

Title Programs Analyst, DJ.QuirinMai@mt.gov, DJ QuirinMai

444-4434

FAX

444-3924

Data Operations

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

 

Database Administrator, JMassman2@mt.gov, Jake Massman

444-0715

GEMS Stakeholder Liaison, Robin.Clausen@mt.gov, Robin Clausen

444-3793

K-20 Data & Research Analyst, Crystal.Armstrong@mt.gov,  Crystal Armstrong

444-0475

MDUC Project Manager, Vacant

444-2080

FAX

444-1369

                                                                                              AIM UNIT

                                                              1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana 

 

AIM Unit Manager, GHarms@mt.gov, Gail Harms

444-3494

Data Information Specialist, ABoehm@mt.gov, Andy Boehm

444-0375

Data Resource Specialist, Kristie.Sears@mt.gov, Kristie Sears

444-3495

Data Resource Specialist, JStraw2@mt.gov, Jennifer Straw

444-0714
FAX 444-3924