Office of Public Instruction

contact information for Montana OPI Employees

OFFICE OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

SUPERINTENDENT'S OFFICE

P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501

General Information, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501

444-3680

 

Web site

opi.mt.gov/

SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

Superintendent of Public Instruction, Elsie.Arntzen@mt.gov, Elsie Arntzen

444-5643

Deputy Superintendent, Sharyl.Allen@mt.gov, Sharyl Allen

444-5658

Chief of Staff, Sarah.Swanson@mt.gov, Sarah Swanson

444-3160

Communications DirectorAnastasia.Burton@mt.gov Anastasia Burton

444-7325

Executive Assistant, Tristen.Belnap@mt.gov, Tristen Belnap 444-5643

Executive Assistant, Brian.Oleary, Brian O'Leary

444-3559

Land Board Liaison, Patrick.Beddow@mt.gov, Patrick Beddow

444-5643

Special Projects, Jessica.Flint@mt.gov, Jessica Flint

438-3400

Project Manager, trenin.bayless@mt.gov, Dr. Trenin Bayless 444-3449

FAX

444-2893

Legal

Chief Legal Counsel, Jacob.Griffith@mt.gov, Jacob Griffith

444-4399

Early Assistance Program Director, MGibbs@mt.gov, Mandi Gibbs

444-5664

Paralegal, Brittany.Divine@mt.gov, Brittany Divine

444-4402

Paralegal, Angie.Griner@mt.gov, Angie Griner

444-2046

FAX

444-2893

Educator Licensure (Certification) Program

Director of Educator Licensure, Crystal.Andrews@mt.gov, Crystal Andrews

444-3150

Licensing Specialist, Cert@mt.gov, Lorri Weiss

444-3150

Licensing Specialist, Cert@mt.gov, Bekki Flanagan

444-3150

License Examiner, Cert@mt.gov, Virginia Diaz

444-3150

Fax

444-0743

Human Resources

Human Resource Manager, TAntonick@mt.gov, Tom Antonick

444-3161

EEO /Title IX/ ADA Coordinator, TAntonick@mt.gov, Tom Antonick

444-3161

Administrative Specialist, Kristen.Bokovoy2@mt.gov, Kristen Bokovoy

444-2417

Human Resource Specialist, Vacant

444-2673

Human Resource Specialist, KSchaan@mt.gov, Kristy Schaan

444-2673

FAX

444-1369

Receptionist 1300 11th Avenue, Helena, Montana

Destiny.Sjoden@mt.gov, Destiny Sjoden

444-3680

Accreditation and Educator Preparation

Accreditation Administrator, Vacant

444-5726

Administrative Specialist, Vacant

Accreditation Program Director, NMiller5@mt.gov, Nathan Miller

444-4317

Accreditation Data Specialist, Vacant

444-2410

FAX

444-1373

Content Standards & Instruction

Teaching and Learning Senior Manager, CBartow@mt.gov, Colet Bartow

444-3583

Professional Learning Data Specialist, Vacant

English Language Arts & Literacy Instructional Coordinator, Stephanie.Swigart@mt.gov, Stephanie Swigart

444-0736

Mathematics Instructional Coordinator, Sonja.Whitford@mt.gov, Sonja Whitford

444-0706

Professional Learning Coordinator, Carli.Cockrell@mt.gov, Carli Cockrell

444-0769
Science Instructional Coordinator, MMcCarthy5@mt.gov, Michelle McCarthy

444-3537

Teacher Learning Hub Coordinator, Marti.Paugh@mt.gov, Marti Paugh

444-3557

Teacher Learning Hub Course Design & Quality Specialist, Allyson.Briese@gmail.gov, Allyson Briese

444-0716
Teacher Learning Hub Project Specialist, Vacant

444-4422

Teaching and Learning Department Administration Specialist, EFuller@mt.gov, Emily Fuller

444-3538

Montana Comprehensive Literacy Program Manager, Vacant

Instructional Innovations Specialist, Vacant

Montana Comprehensive Literacy Specialist, rachel.anderberg@mt.gov, Rachel Gott

(303) 552-1332

Renewal Units/Approved Providers, OPIRUPS@mt.gov

 

FAX

444-1373

Career, Technical Education

CTAE Unit Manager, Shannon.Boswell@mt.gov, Shannon Boswell

444-7915

Data Control Specialist, Ian.Beagles@mt.gov, Ian Beagles

444-9019

Adult Education Unit Manager, Katie.Madsen@mt.gov, Katie Madsen

444-4443

Program Assistant for Adult Basic Education, Vacant

 

Agricultural & Natural Resources Education Specialist, Eric.Tilleman@mt.gov, Eric Tilleman

444-4451

Business and Marketing Education Specialist, ESwenson@mt.gov, Eric Swenson

444-7991

CTAE Educational Transition Specialist, Vacant

444-4451

Marketing Program Coordinator, Austin.Schweitzer@mt.gov, Austin Schweitzer

444-2059

Family and Consumer Sciences Specialist, Gayla.Randel@mt.gov,  Gayla L. Randel

444-3599

Health Science Education Specialist, Vacant

 

Education Specialist for Industrial Technology, Michael.Houghton@mt.gov, Michael Houghton

444-4452

Veterans Education Program Manager, Vacant

 

FAX

444-1373

Student Support Services

Student Support Services Senior Manager, Jessica.Counts@mt.gov, Jessie Counts

444-4706

Director of Student Support Services, Vacant

Fiscal & Reporting Manager, DMcCarthy@mt.gov, Danni McCarthy

444-0452

Administrative Assistant, KBrown8@mt.gov, Kelley Brown

444-5661

Administrative Assistant, Ty.House@mt.gov, Ty House

444-2504

Assessment & Accountability Specialist, YField@mt.gov, Yvonne Field

444-4940

Data Accountability Specialist, ARainey@mt.gov, Anne Rainey

444-4430

Data Accountability Specialist, Kristie.Sears@mt.gov, Kristie Sears

444-0685

School Improvement Specialist, Christopher.McCrea@mt.gov, Christopher McCrea

444-7432

Early Assistance Program Director, MGibbs@mt.gov, Mandi Gibbs

444-5664

School Improvement Specialist, Vacant

444-1579

Autism Specialist, ddoty@mt.gov, Doug Doty

459-5303

CSPD Specialist, AYoung3@mt.gov, Annette Young

444-0299

Continuing Education Unit Manager, Sheila.Lovato@mt.gov, Sheila Lovato

459-4265

School Support Specialist, Sara.Kendrick@mt.gov, Sara Kendrick

444-0688

Special Education Content Specialist, Jennifer.Nettleton@mt.gov, Jennifer Nettleton

444-5848

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Theodore Spas

444-5661

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Margaret Tryon

444-5661

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Ann Verploegen

444-5661

School Improvement Specialist, MSwanby@mt.gov, Marla Swanby

444-0044

School Instructional Case Manager, Carla.Heintz@mt.gov, Carla Heintz

School Improvement Unit Manager, John.Gorton@mt.gov,  John Gorton

459-4281

FAX

444-3924

Early Learning Unit Manager, Vacant

School Improvement Specialist, Vacant

Fax

444-1373

American Indian Education For All Unit

Director of American Indian Education for All, Zachariah.Hawkins@mt.gov, Zack Hawkins

444-0708

Indian Education Specialist, Curriculum and Materials Development Lead Worker, MJetty@mt.gov, Mike Jetty

444-0720

Indian Education Specialist, SMorsette@mt.gov, Stephen Morsette

444-0754

Indian Education Specialist, JStadum@mt.gov, Jennifer Stadum

444-0725

American Indian Student Achievement Unit

Director of American Indian Student Achievement, Vacant

Indian Education Administrative Assistant, JFranke@mt.gov, Joan Franke

444-3694

Tribal, Community Liaison, DWetzel2@mt.gov, Don Wetzel

444-4527
Instructional Coordinator Immersion & Support, Vacant

 

American Indian Youth Development Coordinator, Vacant

444-

American Indian Student Achievement Specialist, Vacant

444-

American Indian Student Achievement Specialist, Durand.BearMedicine@mt.gov, Durand Bear Medicine

450-5670

Heart Butte Instructional Leader, Vacant

Hays Lodge Pole School Board Coach, Vacant

Hays Lodge Pole Transformational Leader, DMcGee@mt.gov, Daniel McGee

876-3262

Billings, Caring Schools Coordinator/SAMHSA Grant Manager, SIronShooter@mt.gov, Stephanie Iron Shooter

530-4364

Billings, SAMHSA Grant Project Coordinator, KTwoTwo@mt.gov, Karla Two Two

969-6505

Billings, Wrap-Around Coach, Crystal.Hickman@mt.gov, Crystal Hickman

839-6734

Billings, Wrap-Around Coach, Vacant

Brockton, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Vacant

Crow/Hardin, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Kenny.Shane@mt.gov, Kenneth Shane

638-2252

Billings, Family Engagement Specialist, Vacant

Frazer, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Lih-An.Yang@mt.gov, Lih-An Yang

263-5441

Communications Coordinator, Vacant

Harlem, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Cheryl.Horn@mt.gov, Cheryl Horn

399-4491

Hays Lodge Pole, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Patricia.Carrywater@mt.gov, Patricia Carrywater

344-3894

Heart Butte, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Vacant

Rocky Boy, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Vacant

Poplar, Wrap-Around Facilitator, Vacant

ESSA & School Improvement

School Innovation and Improvement Senior Manager, Julie.Murgel@mt.gov, Julie Murgel

444-3172

Director of School Improvement, Carrie.Kouba@mt.gov, Carrie Kouba

444-0864

School Improvement Specialist, Julie.Gavin@mt.gov, Julie Gavin

444-0686

School Improvement Specialist, Aimee.Konzen@mt.gov, Aimee Konzen

444-3114

School Improvement Specialist, Vacant

School Improvement Specialist, Vacant

Title I, Federal Grants Unit Director and Private School Ombudsman, JOConnor2@mt.gov, Jack O'Connor

444-3083

Title I & Homeless Specialist, HDenny@mt.gov, Heather Denny

444-2036

English Learner Specialist, Evelyn.Paz@mt.gov, Evelyn Paz

 

Federal Grants Coordinator, christy.hendricks@mt.gov, Christy Hendricks

444-0794

Migrant Education Director, ABranzSpall@mt.gov, Angela Branz-Spall

444-2423

Administrative Assistant, SHarlow@mt.gov, Sheri Harlow

444-5660

Title I School Support Fax

444-1373

School Support Services

Chief Program Officer, TMoseman@mt.gov, Tracy Moseman

444-3000

Student Support Services Senior Manager, Jessica.Counts@mt.gov, Jessie Counts

444-4706

Administrative Assistant, LWetherall@mt.gov, Leona Wetherall

444-0751

Coordinated School Health Unit Director, Vacant

431-3126

Project AWARE Program Manager, Tina.Eblen@mt.gov, Tina Eblen

594-4259

School Health Partnership Program Manager, Jamey.Petersen@mt.gov, Jamey Petersen

437-1760

Rural Mental Health Pathways Training Program Manager, Vacant

School Health Coordinator, SCourt@mt.gov, Susan Court

444-3178

21st Century and Suspension-Expulsion Data Specialist, ADomino@mt.gov, Amanda Domino

431-0466

21st Century Coordinator, Michelle.Cusey@mt.gov, Michelle Cusey

431-3029

Title IV A Program Manager, Tamara.Lysons@mt.gov, Tammy Lysons

431-2309

Tobacco Prevention Education Specialist, KMinard@mt.gov, Kris Minard

444-0785

School Safety Program Manager, Michele.Henson@mt.gov, Michele Henson

595-1058

FAX

444-2955

School Nutrition Programs Director, CEmerson@mt.gov, Christine Emerson

444-2502

School Nutrition Assistant Director, Vacant

444-4415

Administrative Assistant, CHickman@mt.gov, Clay Hickman

444-2501

Data Analyst, AlieW@mt.gov, Alie Wolf

459-5394

FFVP Manager/School Nutrition Program Specialist, Caroline.Olson@mt.gov, Caroline Olson

437-4688

School Nutrition Program Specialist, Deborah.Jones@mt.gov, Deb Jones

444-3532

School Nutrition Program Specialist, Erin.Turner@mt.gov, Erin Turner

559-7588

School Nutrition Program Specialist, Kelli.Johnson@mt.gov, Kelli Johnson

465-1769

Summer Food Service Program Manager, Vacant

 

Food Distribution Program Manager, Pamela.Fruh@mt.gov, Pam Fruh

444-4412

FAX (School Nutrition Programs)

444-1488

Traffic Education Director, Dwight.Nelson@mt.gov, Dwight Nelson

444-4396

Program Specialist, Vacant

444-4432

Non-OPI Health

Immunization, DPHHS

444-6978

TB Testing Requirements, DPHHS

444-0275

 

DEPARTMENT OF OPERATIONS

Department of Operations Chief Financial Officer, Vacant

 

Budget Analyst, PTaylor2@mt.gov, Paul Taylor

444-1257

Budget Analyst, Deann.Willcut@mt.govDeann Willcut

444-2563

Reception/Referral 1227 11th Ave: Vonnie.Evans@mt.gov, Vonnie Evans - Mon,Tues & Wed am & Catherine.McNeil@mt.gov, Catherine McNeil - Wed pm & Thurs, Fri

444-3693

FAX

444-1369

Assessment Unit

State Assessment Director, AMcGrath@mt.gov, Ashley McGrath

1-844-867-2569

Data Control Specialist, MFortner@mt.gov, Marcy Fortner

1-844-867-2569

Assessment Specialist, Duane.Schlabach@mt.gov, Duane Schlabach

1-844-867-2569

Assessment Specialist, Katie.Murnion@mt.gov, Katie Murnion

1-844-867-2569

Assessment Specialist, Jacob.Barto@mt.gov, Jacob Barto

1-844-867-2569

NAEP State Coordinator, SNiederstadt@mt.gov, Shantel Niederstadt

1-844-867-2569

Fax

444-3924

Centralized Services

Centralized Services Senior Manager, JPhillips3@mt.gov, Jay Phillips

444-4523

Accounting Supervisor, Judy.Sanchez@mt.gov, Judy Sanchez

444-3471

Accounts Receivable Accountant, HZimmer@mt.gov, Heather Zimmer

444-1961

Grants Management Systems Analyst, Mindi.Askelson@mt.gov, Mindi Askelson

444-0768

E-Grants Designer, KBeagles@mt.gov, Karla Beagles

444-0764

Payroll, Randa.Renenger@mt.gov, Randa Renenger

444-4407

Contract and Procurement Manager, Vacant

 

Accountant, Vacant

 

Procurement Technician, RNielsen@mt.gov, Randy Nielsen

444-3504

Accountant, WWilliams2@mt.gov, Whitney Williams

444-3408

Accountant, Paula.Clinch@mt.gov, Paula Clinch

444-0768

Accountant, Catlin.Clifford@mt.gov, Catlin, Clifford

444-3692

Accountant, Rebecca.Belling@mt.gov, Becky Belling

444-2561

Mail Room, LCook2@mt.gov, Lee Cook

444-3148

FAX

444-1369

School Finance

School Finance Senior Manager, Barbara.Quinn@mt.gov, Barbara Quinn

444-3249

Auditor, Dan.Moody@mt.gov, Daniel Moody

444-0701

ESSER Program Manager, Jeffrey.Kirksey@mt.gov, Jeff Kirksey

444-0783

Financial Specialist, Mari.Haefka2@mt.gov, Mari Haefka

444-9852

Financial Specialist, NMerala@mt.gov, Nica Merala

444-4401

Financial Specialist, Renee.Richter@mt.gov, Renee Richter

444-1960

Financial Specialist, DRosenthal@mt.gov, Donell Rosenthal

422-0320

Financial Specialist, NThuotte@mt.gov, Nicole Thuotte

444-4524

Computer Support Specialist, DCasey@mt.gov, Deb Casey

444-3096

EANS Program Manager, Janey.Salomon@mt.gov, Janey Salomon

410-1246 

FAX

444-0509

DATA & TECHNOLOGY SERVICES

Chief Data Officer, MSweeney@mt.gov, Michael Sweeney

444-4411

 

Technology Operations

School Computer Equipment Program, SBuswell@mt.gov, Scott Buswell

495-9695

Data Operations Manager, Chris.Noel@mt.gov, Chris Noel

444-2765

Business Analyst/Project Manager, CPennington@mt.gov, Carmen Pennington

459-2962

School Staffing Project Manager, Vacant

444-4069

Business Analyst/Project Manager, Tara.Dempsey@mt.gov, Tara Dempsey

444-4607

Computer Systems Analyst, RHoffman2@mt.gov, Robert Hoffman

438-6636

Computer Systems Analyst, SMeredith@mt.gov, Steve Meredith

438-6623

Security Officer, AGrover@mt.gov, Alan Grover

444-3502

IT Operations Manager, MMurray3@mt.gov,Mike Murray

444-3536

Database Administrator, Vacant

 

Database Administrator, Vacant

444-0715

Network Systems Analyst, Mark.Pomerleau@mt.gov, Mark Pomerleau

444-9690

Desktop Systems Analyst, DDickson2@mt.gov, Dylan Dickson

444-0087

Help Desk Technician, BYbarra@mt.gov Briana Ybarra

444-0087

Systems Support Specialist, Allen.Brazier@mt.gov, Allen Brazier

444-3448

Computer Systems Analyst, CTenneson@mt.gov,  Cindie Tenneson

444-1962

Computer Systems Analyst, LGeske@mt.gov, Lynnette Geske

444-9860

Computer Systems Analyst, VThacker@mt.gov, Vicki Thacker

444-9870

Computer Systems Analyst, Cindy.Morrison@mt.gov, Cindy Morrison

 

FAX

444-1369

Data Governance Manager

Data Governace Manager, JEreth@mt.gov, Jamey Ereth

444-4409

Achievement Gap Analyst, Vacant

444-3642

Operations Research Analyst, SFurois@mt.gov, Scott Furois

444-3545

Ed Facts Coordinator, Meghann.Spring@mt.gov, Meghann Spring

444-0793

Title & School Support Analyst, ABuchanan2@mt.gov, Amber Buchanan

444-2736

Common Core Data Coordinator, DJ.QuirinMai@mt.gov, DJ QuirinMai

444-4434

Statewide Longitudinal Data System (SLDS) Program & Grant Manager, BCarter2@mt.gov, Brett Carter

444-0475

GEMS Stakeholder Liaison, Robin.Clausen@mt.gov, Robin Clausen

444-3793

Applied Analytics Trainer, Nicole.Frieling@mt.gov, Frieling, Nicole

444-4999

Data Integrity Specialist, Serafima.Forni@mt.gov, Serafima Forni

444-3952

MDUC Project Manager, Vacant

444-2080

Data Control Specialist, Harlan.Reidmohr@mt.gov, Harlan Reidmohr

444-7490

Research Analyst, Kaitlyn.Kleppelid@mt.gov, Kaitlyn Kleppelid

444-1610

FAX

444-3924

AIM UNIT

AIM Unit Manager, GHarms@mt.gov, Gail Harms

444-3494

Data Information Specialist, ABoehm@mt.gov, Andy Boehm

444-0375

Data Resource Specialist, Gerrad.Bohl@mt.gov, Gerrad Bohl

444-3495

Data Resource Specialist, JStraw2@mt.gov, Jennifer Straw

444-0714
FAX 444-3924