Office of Public Instruction



contact information for Montana OPI Employees

OFFICE OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

SUPERINTENDENT'S OFFICE

P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501

General Information, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501

444-3680

Educator Licensure (Certification Program)

444-3150

Web site

opi.mt.gov/

SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

Superintendent of Public Instruction, Elsie.Arntzen@mt.gov, Elsie Arntzen

444-5644

Deputy Superintendent, Sharyl.Allen@mt.gov, Sharyl Allen

444-5658

Director of Communications, Brian.O'Leary@mt.gov, Brian O'Leary

444-3559

Scheduler/Deputy Communications Director, Anna.Hoerner@mt.gov, Anna Hoerner

444-3449

Director of Family Engagement, Jenna.McKinney@mt.gov, Jenna McKinney

406-438-3400 

Land Board Liaison, Patrick.Beddow@mt.gov, Patrick Beddow

444-5643

Government Liaison, Tara.Boulanger@mt.gov, Tara Boulanger 444-2082
Project Manager, Maie.LeeJones2@mt.gov, Maie Lee Jones 444-0037

FAX

444-2893

Legal

Chief Legal Counsel, Rob.Stutz@mt.gov, Rob Stutz

444-4399

Senior Counsel, Richard.Wootton@mt.gov, Rick Wootton

444-5882

Early Assistance Program Director, MGibbs@mt.gov, Mandi Gibbs

444-5664

Administrative Support, Heather.Davidson2@mt.gov, Heather Davidson

444-4402

Paralegal, Angie.Griner@mt.gov, Angie Griner

444-2046

FAX

444-2893

Educator Licensure (Certification) Program

Director of Educator Licensure, Cert@mt.gov, Crystal Andrews

444-3150

Licensing Specialist, Cert@mt.gov, Lorri Weiss

444-3150

Licensing Specialist, Cert@mt.gov, Bekki Flanagan

444-3150

License Examiner, Cert@mt.gov, Virginia Sandin

444-3150

Fax

444-0743

Human Resources

Workforce & Talent Senior Manager, Jeffrey.Kirksey@mt.gov, Jeff Kirksey

444-3161

EEO /Title IX/ ADA Coordinator, Jeffrey.Kirksey@mt.gov, Jeff Kirksey

444-3161

Administrative Specialist, Kristen.Bokovoy2@mt.gov, Kristen Bokovoy

444-2417

Human Resource Specialist, KSchaan@mt.gov, Kristy Schaan

444-2673

Human Resource Specialist, Debbie.Driver@mt.gov, Debbie Driver

444-3574

Employee Engagement Coordinator, T.Jensen@mt.gov, T Jensen

444-0726

FAX

444-1369

Accreditation and Educator Preparation

Accreditation Program Interim Director, Krystal.Smith@mt.gov, Krystal Smith

406-249-0758

Accreditation Data Specialist, Ellery.Bresler@mt.gov, Ellery Bresler

444-2410 

FAX

444-1373

Teaching and Learning

Teaching and Learning Senior Manager, Chris.Noel@mt.gov, Chris Noel

444-2765

Professional Learning Program Manager, Susan.Catapano@mt.gov, Susan Catapano

English Language Arts & Literacy Instructional Coordinator, Stephanie.Swigart@mt.gov, Stephanie Swigart

444-0736

Mathematics Instructional Coordinator, Sonja.Whitford@mt.gov, Sonja Whitford

444-0706

Science Instructional Coordinator, MMcCarthy5@mt.gov, Michelle McCarthy

444-3537

Coordinator - Teacher Learning Hub, Allyson.Briese@mt.gov, Allyson Briese

444-0716

Coordinator - Teacher Learning Hub, Rebecca.Kranitz@mt.gov, Rebecca Kranitz

444-0466

Coordinator - Teacher Learning Hub, Kimberly.Evans@mt.gov, Kimberly Evans

 

Montana Comprehensive Literacy Specialist, Makayla.Kennelly@mt.gov, Makayla Kennelly

444-6476

Instructional Coordinator, rachel.anderberg@mt.gov, Rachel Gott

303-552-1332

Montana Comprehensive Literacy Specialist, Sara.Kendrick@mt.gov, Sara Kendrick

444-0688

Teacher Data Coordinator, Mattie.Murphy2@mt.gov, Mattie Murphy

406-459-5095

Renewal Units/Approved Providers, OPIRUPS@mt.gov

 

FAX

444-1373

Career, Technical and Adult Education

CTAE Unit Manager, Shannon.Boswell@mt.gov, Shannon Boswell

444-7915

Data Control Specialist, Ian.Beagles@mt.gov, Ian Beagles

444-9019

Adult Education Unit Manager, Katie.Madsen@mt.gov, Katie Madsen

406-465-1341

Agricultural & Natural Resources Education Specialist, Eric.Tilleman@mt.gov, Eric Tilleman

406-438-6636

Business and Marketing Education Specialist, ESwenson@mt.gov, Eric Swenson

444-7991

Marketing Program Coordinator, Austin.Schweitzer@mt.gov, Austin Schweitzer

444-2059

Family and Consumer Sciences Specialist, Gayla.Randel@mt.gov,  Gayla L. Randel

406-431-2117

Health Science & Public Education Specialist, Jamie.Corley@mt.gov, Jamie Corley

406-437-2434

Adult Education Program Specialist, EFuller@mt.gov, Emily Fuller

406-594-3750

FAX

444-1373

Student Support Services

Special Education Director, JP.Williams@mt.gov, JP Williams

444-4426

Program Support Specialist, Kristin.Snowden@mt.gov, Kristin Snowden

406-465-6661

Special Education School Improvement Specialist, Desiree.Johnson@mt.gov, Desiree Johnson

406-431-1081

Special Education School Improvement Specialist, Mercee.Cislo@mt.gov, Mercee Cislo

406-437-2369

Fiscal & Reporting Manager, DMcCarthy@mt.gov, Danni McCarthy

444-0452

Administrative Assistant, KBrown8@mt.gov, Kelley Brown

444-5661

Administrative Assistant, Ty.House@mt.gov, Ty House

444-2504

Data Accountability Specialist, ARainey@mt.gov, Anne Rainey

444-4430

School Improvement Specialist, Christopher.McCrea@mt.gov, Christopher McCrea

444-3864

Early Assistance Program Director, MGibbs@mt.gov, Mandi Gibbs

444-5664

School Improvement Specialist, Alicia.Herman@mt.gov, Alicia Herman

406-438-1363

Autism Specialist, ddoty@mt.gov, Doug Doty

406-459-5303

CSPD Specialist, AYoung3@mt.gov, Annette Young

444-0299

Continuing Education Unit Manager, Tamara.Lysons@mt.gov Tammy Lysons

406-431-2309

School Improvement Unit Manager, John.Gorton@mt.gov,  John Gorton

406-459-4281

Program Support Specialist, Anne.Carpenter2@mt.gov, Anne Carpenter

406-465-0922

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Margaret.Tyron@mt.gov, Margaret Tryon

444-5661

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, AVerploegen@mt.gov, Ann Verploegen

444-5661

FAX

444-3924

Early Learning and Special Education Specialist, Lucy.Beltz2@mt.gov, Lucy Beltz

406-431-4654

School Improvement Specialist, Katie.Mattingley@mt.gov, Katie Mattingley

406-437-3874

Fax

444-1373

American Indian Education For All Unit

Director of American Indian Education for All, Zachariah.Hawkins@mt.gov, Zack Hawkins

444-0708

Indian Education Specialist, Curriculum and Materials Development Lead Worker, MJetty@mt.gov, Mike Jetty

444-0720

Indian Education Specialist, SMorsette@mt.gov,  Stephen Morsette

444-0754

Indian Education Specialist, JStadum@mt.gov, Jennifer Stadum

444-0725

American Indian Student Achievement Unit

Director of American Indian Student Achievement, Carrie.Gopher@mt.gov, Carrie Gopher

406-422-2821

Indian Education Administrative Assistant, JFranke@mt.gov, Joan Franke

444-3694

Tribal, Community Liaison, DWetzel2@mt.gov, Don Wetzel

444-4527

American Indian Youth Development Coordinator, Matthew.Bell@mt.gov, Matthew Bell

406-431-6626

Indian Student Achievement Specialist, Morgan.Smith@mt.gov, Morgan Smith

406-594-9758

Tribal Youth Coordinator, Alicia.Doney@mt.gov, Alicia Doney

406-594-9905

TRR Americorps Planning Coordinator, Anna.Marsicano@mt.gov, Anna Marsicano

803-487-8511

ESSA & School Improvement

Chief Operations Officer over Innovation, Improvement & Excellence, Julie.Murgel@mt.gov, Julie Murgel

444-3172

Innovations & Improvement Senior Manager, Carrie.Kouba@mt.gov, Carrie Kouba

444-0864

School Improvement Specialist, Julie.Gavin@mt.gov, Julie Gavin

444-0686

Title 1 School Support Unit Director, Aimee.Konzen@mt.gov, Aimee Konzen

444-3114

School Improvement Specialist, YField@mt.gov, Yvonne Field

444-3620

School Improvement Specialist, Lindsay.Thompson@mt.gov, Lindsay Thompson

444-3114

School Improvement Specialist, Sara.Tiffany@mt.gov, Sara Tiffany

Title I, Federal Grants Unit Director and Private School Ombudsman, JOConnor2@mt.gov, Jack O'Connor

444-3083

Title I & Homeless Specialist, Serena.Wright@mt.gov, Serena Wright

444-2036 

English Learner Specialist, Destin.Markland@mt.gov, Destin Markland

444-0044

Federal Grants Coordinator, christy.hendricks@mt.gov, Christy Hendricks

444-0794

Migrant Education Director, ABranzSpall@mt.gov, Angela Branz-Spall

444-2423

Administrative Assistant, SHarlow@mt.gov, Sheri Harlow

444-5660

Title I School Support Fax

444-1373

School Support Services

Chief Operations Officer over Innovation, Improvement & Excellence, Julie.Murgel@mt.gov, Julie Murgel

444-3172

Administrative Assistant, Katherine.Felde@mt.gov, Katie Felde

444-0751

Coordinated School Health Unit Director, Jamey.Petersen@mt.gov, Jamey Petersen

444-0773

Instructional Coordinator, Genie.Zeeck@mt.gov, Genie Zeeck

444-3178

Project AWARE Program Manager, Tina.Eblen@mt.gov, Tina Eblen

406-594-4259

School Health Program Specialist, Brittany.Carr@mt.gov, Brittany Carr

406-410-1038

School Mental Health Services Support Coordinator, Crystal.Hickman@mt.gov, Crystal Hickman

406-839-6734

21st Century and Suspension-Expulsion Data Specialist, ADomino@mt.gov, Amanda Domino

406-431-0466

21 st Century Coordinator, Michelle.Cusey@mt.gov, Michelle Cusey

406-431-3029

Title IV A Program Manager, Paige.Sedahl@mt.gov, Paige Sedahl

406-422-2821

Tobacco Prevention Education Specialist, KMinard@mt.gov, Kris Minard

444-0785

School Safety Program Manager, Michele.Henson@mt.gov, Michele Henson

406-595-1058

FAX

444-2955

School Nutrition Programs Director, CEmerson@mt.gov, Christine Emerson

444-2502

Data Analyst, AlieW@mt.gov, Alie Wolf

406-459-5394

School Nutrition Program Specialist, Stephainie.Moodry@mt.gov, Stephanie Moodry

406-475-0101

School Nutrition Program Specialist, Kelli.Johnson@mt.gov, Kelli Johnson

406-465-1769

School Nutrition Program Specialist, Lauren.Donithan@mt.gov, Lauren Robst Donithan

444-3532 

School Nutrition Program Specialist, Amber.Lyman@mt.gov, Amber Lyman

444-4415

Summer Food Service Program Manager, Erin.Turner@mt.gov, Erin Turner

406-559-7588

Food Distribution Program Manager, Pamela.Fruh@mt.gov, Pam Fruh

444-4412

FAX (School Nutrition Programs)

444-1488

Traffic Education Director, Dwight.Nelson@mt.gov, Dwight Nelson

444-4396

Traffic Education Administrative Assistant, LeAnn.Haas@mt.gov, LeAnn Haas

444-4432 

Non-OPI Health

Immunization, DPHHS

444-6978

TB Testing Requirements, DPHHS

444-0275

 DEPARTMENT OF OPERATIONS

Department of Operations Chief Financial Officer, JPhillips3@mt.gov, Jay Phillips

444-4523 

Budget Analyst, PTaylor2@mt.gov, Paul Taylor

444-1257

Budget Analyst, Rebecca.Belling@mt.gov, Becky Belling

444-2561

FAX

444-1369

Assessment Unit

Data Control Specialist, MFortner@mt.gov, Marcy Fortner

1-844-867-2569

NAEP State Coordinator, SNiederstadt@mt.gov, Shantel Niederstadt

1-844-867-2569

Math and ELA Assessment Specialist, Austin.Waldbillig@mt.gov, Austin Waldbillig

444-0748 

Fax

444-3924

Centralized Services

Centralized Services Senior Manager, Deann.Willcut@mt.gov, Deann Willcut

444-2563 

Accounting Supervisor, Judy.Sanchez@mt.gov, Judy Sanchez

444-3471

Budget Analyst, Jasmine.Williams@mt.gov, Jasmine Williams

444-4429 

Accounts Receivable Accountant, HZimmer@mt.gov, Heather Zimmer

444-1961

Grants Management Systems Analyst, Mindi.Askelson@mt.gov, Mindi Askelson

444-0768

E-Grants Designer, KBeagles@mt.gov, Karla Beagles

444-0764

Payroll, Randa.Renenger@mt.gov, Randa Renenger

444-4407

Contract and Procurement Manager, RNielsen@mt.gov, Randy Nielsen

444-4404 

Agency Facility & Access Coordinator, Bill.Wilson@mt.gov, Bill Wilson

444-3504

Accountant, WWilliams2@mt.gov, Whitney Williams

444-3408

Accountant, Paula.Clinch@mt.gov, Paula Clinch

406-438-3675

Accountant, Catlin.Clifford@mt.gov, Catlin, Clifford

444-3692

Accountant, Megan.Tenneson2@mt.gov, Megan Tenneson

444-4403 

Accounting Technician, Julie.Moore@mt.gov, Julie Moore

 

ESSER Grant Accountant, Steven.Morgan@mt.gov, Steven Morgan

406-594-9728

Mail Room, LCook2@mt.gov, Lee Cook

444-3148

Administrative Assistant:  Vonnie.Evans@mt.gov, Vonnie Evans - Mon,Tues & Wed am & Catherine.McNeil@mt.gov, Catherine McNeil - Wed pm & Thurs, Fri

444-3693

Administrative Assistant: Laura.Cuntapay@mt.gov, Laura Cuntapay 444-3680

FAX

444-1369

School Finance

School Finance Senior Manager, Barbara.Quinn@mt.gov, Barbara Quinn

444-3249

Auditor, Kristen.Becker@mt.gov, Kristen Becker

444-0701

Budget Analyst, Autumn.Belmont@mt.gov, Autumn Belmont

444-9852

Budget Analyst, Laci.Novark@mt.gov, Laci Novark

444-4401

ESSER Director, Wendi.Fawns@mt.gov, Wendi Fawns

406-437-8595

ESSER Program Manager, Rebecca.Brown@mt.gov, Becca Brown

444-0783

Financial Specialist, Andrea.Mohammadi@mt.gov, Andrea Mohammadi

 444-1960

Financial Specialist, DRosenthal@mt.gov, Donell Rosenthal

406-461-9316

Technology Support Coordinator, Jesse.Romero@mt.gov, Jesse Romero

444-3096

FAX

444-0509

DATA & TECHNOLOGY SERVICES

Chief Data Officer, Christopher.Sinrud@mt.gov, Christopher Sinrud

444-4451
 Technology Operations

Senior Data Operations Manager, Ashley.Perez@mt.gov, Ashley Perez

444-4940

IT Operations Senior Manager, Andrew.Campbell@mt.gov, Andy Campbell

444-3536

Business Analyst/Project Manager, MSwanby@mt.gov, Marla Swanby

406-438-2160

Digital Communications Director of Photography, SMeredith@mt.gov, Steve Meredith

444-3563

Security Officer, AGrover@mt.gov, Alan Grover

444-3502

IT Project Coordinator,  Tristen.Loveridge@mt.gov, Tristen Loveridge

444-4607 

Database Administrator, Serafima.Forni@mt.gov, Serafima Forni

444-3952

Database Administrator, Kaitlyn.Greenhalgh@mt.gov, Kaitlyn Greenhalgh

444-1610 

Network Systems Analyst,  Mark.Pomerleau@mt.gov, Mark Pomerleau

444-9690

Help Desk Technician, BYbarra@mt.gov Briana Ybarra

444-0087

Computer Systems Analyst, CTenneson@mt.gov,  Cindie Tenneson

444-1962

Computer Systems Analyst, LGeske@mt.gov, Lynnette Geske

444-9860

Computer Systems Analyst, VThacker@mt.gov, Vicki Thacker

444-9870

FAX

444-1369

DATA GOVERNANCE

 

Data Governace Manager, JEreth@mt.gov, Jamey Ereth

444-4409

Operations Research Analyst, SFurois@mt.gov, Scott Furois

444-3545

Ed Facts Coordinator, Meghann.Spring@mt.gov, Meghann Spring

444-0793

Title & School Support Analyst, ABuchanan2@mt.gov, Amber Buchanan

444-2736

Common Core Data Coordinator, DJ.QuirinMai@mt.gov, DJ QuirinMai

444-4434

Statewide Longitudinal Data System (SLDS) Program & Grant Manager, BCarter2@mt.gov, Brett Carter

444-0475

GEMS Stakeholder Liaison, Robin.Clausen@mt.gov, Robin Clausen

444-3793
ESSER Data Analyst, Garret.Morrill@mt.gov, Garret Morrill

 

Research Analyst, Nicole.Frieling@mt.gov, Frieling, Nicole

444-4999

Data Control Specialist, Harlan.Reidmohr@mt.gov, Harlan Reidmohr

444-7490

FAX

444-3924

AIM Unit

AIM Unit Manager, NThuotte@mt.gov, Nicole Thuotte 

444-2080

Data Information Specialist, ABoehm@mt.gov, Andy Boehm

444-0375

Data Resource Specialist, JStraw2@mt.gov, Jennifer Straw

444-0714
FAX 444-3924