Last Update: 02/02/2024

Commissioner of Higher Education

Commissioner's Office

560 N. Park Avenue, 4th Floor
PO Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201

Website:  www.mus.edu/che/
Organization Chart:  https://mus.edu/che/OCHE_org_chart.pdf

Main Number 406-449-9124
FAX Number 406-449-9171
TTY 711

BOARD OF REGENTS OF HIGHER EDUCATION

P.O. Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201
Website https://mus.edu/board/ 
FAX Number 406-449-9171
Regent Loren Bough, Big Sky RegentBough@montana.edu  406-449-9124
Regent Todd Buchanan, Billings RegentBuchanan@montana.edu  406-449-9124
Regent Joyce Dombrouski, Missoula RegentDombrouski@montana.edu  406-449-9124
Regent Dean Folkvord, Three Forks RegentFolkvord@montana.edu  406-449-9124
Regent Casey Lozar, Helena RegentLozar@montana.edu  406-449-9124
Regent Jeff Southworth, Livingston RegentSouthworth@montana.edu  406-449-9124
Student Regent Garret Yeager RegentYeager@montana.edu  406-449-9124

Administration

Commissioner of Higher Education, Clayton Christian cchristian@montana.edu  406-449-9125
Executive Assistant to the Commissioner, Jasmine Casanovas jcasanovas@montana.edu  406-449-9127
Leanne Kurtz, Executive Support Assistant lkurtz@montana.edu 406-449-9151
Galen Hollenbaugh, Deputy Commissioner for Government Relations and Communications ghollenbaugh@montana.edu  406-449-9167
Tamara Turner, Administrative Support Specialist tturner@montana.edu 406-449-9147

Academic, Research and Student Affairs

Interim Deputy Commissioner for Academic, Research, and Student Affairs, Joe Thiel jthiel@montana.edu  406-449-9134
Director of Online Initiatives, Susan Balter-Reitz susan.balterreitz@msubillings.edu  406-657-2214
Director of Transfer and Special Projects, Angela DeWolf King aking@montana.edu  406-449-9143
Perkins Equity & Compliance Program Manager, Ciera Franks-Ongoy cfranksongoy@montana.edu  406-449-9132
Director of Student Well-Being, Jayci Hacker jhacker@montana.edu 
Director of American Indian/Minority Achievement and K-12 Partnerships, Angela McLean amclean@montana.edu  406-449-9131
Director of Student Affairs and Student Engagement, Crystine Miller cmiller@montana.edu  406-449-9133
Perkins Program Manager, ML Rutherford mlrutherford@montana.edu  406-449-9128
CTE Data Specialist, Chase Stahl cstahl@montana.edu  406-449-9141
Director of Dual Enrollment and Career & Technical Education, Jacque Treaster jtreaster@montana.edu  406-449-9135
Interim METS and EOC Director, Derek Calvert dcalvert@montana.edu  406-449-9136
METS Program Specialist, Derek Calvert dcalvert@montana.edu  406-449-9137
METS Pre-College Advisor II (Flathead Area Schools), Carla Guarisco cguarisco@montana.edu  406-275-4871
METS Pre-College Advisor (Great Falls Area Schools), Elizabethe Maloney-Barrett emaloneybarrett@montana.edu  406-268-6199
METS College Access Manager, Vacant 406-449-9138
METS Pre-College Advisor (Great Falls Area Schools), Rowland Wilber rwilber@montana.edu  406-268-6199
METS Pre-College Advisor (Crow Area Schools), Vacant   406-639-2385
METS Pre-College Advisor (Flathead Area Schools), Vacant 406-275-4871
METS Pre-College Advisor (Blackfeet Area Schools), Vacant 406-338-2745
METS Pre-College Advisor (Blackfeet Area Schools), Vacant   406-338-2745
EOC Outreach Advisor (Butte Area), Andrew Richards arichards@montana.edu  406-431-8643
EOC Program Specialist, vacant 406-389-7020
EOC Outreach Advisor (Missoula Area), Vacant 406-513-1036
Director, GEAR UP, Jeannie Origbo jorigbo@montana.edu  406-449-9139
GEAR UP Program Manager, John Kilgour jkilgour@montana.edu  406-449-9140
GEAR UP Data Analysis & Assessment Manager, Kelley Tippett ktippett@montana.edu  406-449-9174
GEAR UP School Grant Manager, Karen Wilson kwilson@montana.edu  406-449-9144
GEAR UP Communication and Operations Manager, Vacant 406-389-7092

Budget, Administration & Planning

Deputy Commissioner for Budget & Planning, Chief of Staff, Tyler Trevor ttrevor@montana.edu  406-449-9145
Accounting Manager, Jamie Dushin jdushin@montana.edu  406-449-9169
Accounting Specialist, Angelina Fillinger afillinger@montana.edu  406-449-9146
MUS Accountant, Chad Lee clee@montana.edu  406-449-9175
Director of Admissions & Enrollment Strategy, Scott Lemmon slemmon@montana.edu  406-449-9172
MUS Director of Budget & Planning, Shauna Lyons slyons@montana.edu  406-449-9126
Developer and Business Intelligence Manager, Eric Meredith emeredith@montana.edu  406-449-9165
OCHE Office IT / Web Manager, Edwina Morrison emorrison@montana.edu  406-449-9150
Scholarship Coordinator, Sheila Newlun snewlun@montana.edu  406-449-9168
Chief Procurement Officer, Brian O'Connor boconnor@montana.edu  406-994-5016
Accounting Technician, Morgan Sabol msabol@montana.edu  406-449-9153
OCHE Computer Support Specialist, Jared Smith jsmith@montana.edu  406-449-9152
Student Assistance Support Manager, Marlys Stark mstark@montana.edu  406-449-9130
MUS Information Technology Director, John Thunstrom JThunstrom@mso.umt.edu  406-544-3822
Director of Student Assistance, Amy Unsworth aunsworth@montana.edu  406-449-9149
Director of Assurance and Enterprise Risk, Margaret Wallace mwallace@montana.edu  406-449-9148

Human Resources

Executive Director for Human Resources, Kerry Davant kdavant@montana.edu  406-449-9154
Director of Human Resources & Labor Relations, Jackie Salveson jsalveson@montana.edu  406-449-9155
Director of MUS Workers' Compensation Program, Leah Tietz ltietz@montana.edu  406-449-9156
Executive Director of Insurance & Benefits, Mary Lachenbruch mlachenbruch@montana.edu  406-449-9158
Wellness Program Manager/Fitness Specialist, Neal Andrews michael.andrews4@montana.edu  406-994-6111
Associate Director of Benefits, Amy Berry aberry@montana.edu  406-449-9159
Benefits Enrollment and Accounting Specialist, Chelsi Dupler cdupler@montana.edu  406-449-9160
Registered Nurse Case Manager, Joan Fabricius jfabricius@montana.edu  406-449-9161
Benefits and Wellness Specialist, Kelsey Hartzheim kelsey.hartzheim@montana.edu  406-994-5402
Benefits and Medicare Specialist and Training Expert, Jane Liedle jliedle@montana.edu  406-449-9162
Benefits Communications Manager, Kelley Shields kshields@montana.edu  406-449-9163
Benefits Specialist, Traci Swingley tswingley@montana.edu  406-449-9164
Benefits Toll Free 877-501-1722
FAX Number 406-449-9170

Legal Division

MUS Chief Legal Counsel, Ali Bovingdon abovingdon@montana.edu  406-449-9166
Associate Legal Counsel, Hannah Tokerud htokerud@montana.edu  406-449-9173