Commissioner of Higher Education

Commissioner's Office

560 N. Park Avenue, 4th Floor
PO Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201

Main Number 406-449-9124
FAX Number 406-449-9171
TTY 711


P.O. Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201
FAX Number 406-449-9171
Regent Loren Bough, Big Sky 406-449-9124
Regent Todd Buchanan, Billings 406-449-9124
Regent Joyce Dombrouski, Missoula 406-449-9124
Regent Casey Lozar, Helena 406-449-9124
Regent Brianne Rogers, Bozeman 406-449-9124
Regent Jeff Southworth, Livingston 406-449-9124
Student Regent Norris Blossom, Bozeman 406-449-9124


Commissioner of Higher Education, Clayton Christian 406-449-9125
Deputy Commissioner for Government Relations & Public Affairs, Helen Thigpen 406-449-9167
Executive Assistant to the Commissioner, Jasmine Casanovas 406-449-9127
Communications & Legislative Assistant, Leanne Kurtz 406-449-9151
Administrative Support Manager, Marlys Stark 406-449-9130

Academic, Research and Student Affairs

Deputy Commissioner for Academic, Research, and Student Affairs, Brock Tessman 406-449-9129
Executive Director, MUS Global Initiative, Suhan Chen 406-214-4431
Perkins Equitable Access Coordinator, Ciera Franks-Ongoy 406-449-9132
Perkins Program Manager, Holly Gederos 406-449-9128
ARSA Executive Assistant and Operations Manager, Angela DeWolf King 406-449-9143
CTE Data and Reporting Analyst, Vacant 406-449-9141
Director of Admissions and Enrollment Strategy, Scott Lemmon 406-449-9124
Director of American Indian/Minority Achievement and K-12 Partnerships, Angela McLean 406-449-9131
Director of Student Affairs and Student Engagement, Crystine Miller 406-449-9133
Director of Academic Policy & Research, Joe Thiel 406-449-9134
Director of Dual Enrollment and Career & Technical Education, Jacque Treaster 406-449-9135
TRIO Pre-College Programs Director, Jeannie Origbo 406-449-9136
METS Program Specialist, Derek Calvert 406-449-9137
METS Pre-College Advisor (Crow Area Schools), Shonna Dillon 406-639-2385
METS Pre-College Advisor II (Flathead Area Schools), Carla Guarisco 406-275-4871
METS Pre-College Advisor (Flathead Area Schools), Rory Haugen 406-275-4871
METS Pre-College Advisor (Blackfeet Area Schools), Melissa Comes At Night 406-338-2745
METS Pre-College Advisor (Great Falls Area Schools), Cody Hogan 406-268-6199
METS Pre-College Advisor (Great Falls Area Schools), Elizabethe Maloney-Barrett 406-268-6199
METS Pre-College Advisor (Blackfeet Area Schools), Joshlynn Snow 406-338-2745
METS College Access Manager, Elizabeth Wisner-Kinsey 406-449-9138
EOC Program Specialist, Brandy Kincheloe 406-389-7020
EOC Outreach Advisor (Missoula Area), Chase Anderson 406-513-1036
EOC Outreach Advisor (Butte Area), Andrew Richards 406-431-8643
Director, GEAR UP, Travis Anderson 406-449-9139
GEAR UP Program Manager, John Kilgour 406-449-9140
College Access Program Manager, Maureen Madden 406-449-9142
GEAR UP Data Analysis & Assessment Manager, Kelley Tippett 406-449-9174
GEAR UP Communication and Operations Manager, Mae Vader 406-389-7092
GEAR UP School Grant Manager, Karen Wilson 406-449-9144

Budget, Administration & Planning

Deputy Commissioner for Budget & Planning, Chief of Staff, Tyler Trevor 406-449-9145
Accounting Manager, Jamie Dushin 406-449-9169
Accounting Specialist, Angelina Hall 406-449-9146
MUS Accountant, Chad Lee 406-449-9175
MUS Director of Accounting & Budget, Shauna Lyons 406-449-9126
Business Intelligence Analyst, Eric Meredith 406-449-9165
OCHE Office IT / Web Manager, Edwina Morrison 406-449-9150
State Scholarship Coordinator, Sheila Newlun 406-449-9168
Chief Procurement Officer, Brian O'Connor 406-994-5016
Computer Support Specialist, Jared Smith 406-449-9152
MUS Information Technology Director, John Thunstrom 406-544-3822
Director of Student Assistance/State Certifying Officer, Laurie Tobol 406-449-9153
Student Assistance Analyst, Amy Unsworth 406-449-9149
Director of Assurance and Enterprise Risk, Margaret Wallace 406-449-9148

Human Resources

Deputy Commissioner for Human Resources, Kevin McRae 406-449-9154
Director of Human Resources & Labor Relations, Jackie Salveson 406-449-9155
Director of MUS Workers' Compensation Program, Leah Tietz 406-449-9156
Toll Free 877-501-1722
FAX Number 406-449-9170
Director of Benefits, Mary Lachenbruch 406-449-9158
Wellness Program Manager/Fitness Specialist, Neal Andrews 406-994-6111
Associate Director of Benefits, Amy Berry 406-449-9159
Benefits Enrollment and Accounting Specialist, Chelsi Dupler 406-449-9160
Registered Nurse Case Manager, Joan Fabricius 406-449-9161
Benefits and Wellness Specialist, Kelsey Hartzheim 406-994-5402
Benefits and Medicare Specialist and Training Expert, Jane Liedle 406-449-9162
Benefits Communications Manager, Kelley Shields 406-449-9163
Benefits Specialist, Traci Swingley 406-449-9164

Legal Division

MUS Chief Legal Counsel, Ali Bovingdon 406-449-9166
Associate Legal Counsel, Hannah Tokerud 406-449-9173
MUS Compliance Officer, Jessica Weltman 406-243-3990