Department of Environmental Quality

Main Office Physical Location: 1520 E Sixth Ave, Helena, MT 59601
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 200901, Helena MT 59620-0901
Main Number 444-2544
FAX Number 444-4386
TTY 444-6332


Director, Chris Dorrington 444-2544
Deputy Director, George Mathieus 444-7423
Executive Assistant, Regan Sidner 444-5270

Board of Environmental Review

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 200901 Helena, MT 59620-0901

Board Secretary, Regan Sidner 444-5225

Public Policy, Communications, and MEPA

Public Policy Director, Rebecca Harbage 444-2813
Public Information Specialist, Moira Davin 444-6360
Public Information Specialist, Kevin Stone 444-6469
Digital Media & Website Manager, Nick Danielson 465-5958
Senior MEPA/MFSA Coordinator, Craig Jones 444-0514
Records & Information Manager, Joyce Wittenberg 444-6701

Legal Office

Main Number 444-2630
Chief Counsel, Angela Colamaria 444-2018
Deputy Chief Counsel, Ed Hayes 444-1425
Chief Remediation Counsel, Jon Morgan 444-6589
Attorney Specialist, Paul Nicol 444-6549
Attorney Specialist, Kurt Moser 444-4009
Attorney Specialist, Mark Lucas 444-0201
Attorney Specialist, Kirsten Bowers 444-4222
Attorney Specialist, Sarah Clerget 444-4961
Attorney Specialist, Lee McKenna 444-6559
Attorney Specialist, Patrick Hope 444-4202
Attorney Specialist, Nick Whitaker 444-5690
Attorney Specialist, Sarah Christopherson 444-6347
Attorney Specialist, Jessica Wilkerson 444-6490
Attorney Specialist, Aaron Pettis 444-1422
Paralegal, Catherine Armstrong 444-2630

Enforcement Program

Main Number 444-0379
Enforcement Program Manager, Chad Anderson 444-2964
Citizen Environmental Complaints/Spill Reporting 444-0379

Human Resources

Human Resources Manager, Christina Lipetzky 444-6717
Payroll/HR Technician, Carrie Greeley 444-4218
Payroll/HR Technician, Dionne Giammaria 444-1352
Safety Director, Larry Alheim 444-5382

Fiscal Services

Main Number 444-2442
Chief Financial Officer, Cassy Anderson 444-2855
Contracts Officer, Vicki Woodrow 444-3101
FAX Number 444-1804

Information Management Bureau

DEQ Service Desk 444-1840
Chief Information Officer, Stephen Forrest 444-4201
Systems Administration Manager, Mike Jares 444-7994
Information Systems Supervisor, Roy Duelfer 444-5342
Information Services Section Supervisor, Michelle Hauer 444-7424


Main Number 444-4323
Administrator, Sonja Nowakowski 444-0496
Financial Operations Manager, Denise Kelly 444-4964
FAX Number 444-1374

Air Quality Bureau

Main Number 444-3490
Bureau Chief, Bo Wilkins 444-0286
Smoke Management Hotline 1-800-225-6779
FAX Number 444-1499
Air Quality Analysis & Planning Section Supervisor, Liz Ulrich 444-9741
Air Quality Research & Monitoring Section Supervisor, Doug Kuenzli 444-6695
Air Quality Permitting Section Supervisor, Julie Merkel 444-3626
Air Quality Field Services Section Supervisor, Jamin Grantham (Billings) 247-4446

Energy Bureau

Main Number 444-0281
Bureau Chief, Dan Lloyd 444-6588
Energy Efficiency and Compliance Assistance Section Supervisor, Bonnie Rouse 444-6439
Energy Planning & Renewables Section Supervisor, Ben Brouwer 444-6459
Radon Hotline 1-800-546-0483
Small Business Assistance Hotline 1-800-433-8773

Mining Bureau

Main Number, Metcalf Building 444-4953
FAX Number 444-1499
Main Number, Diane Building (Coal & Opencut Mining) 444-4970
Bureau Chief, Dan Walsh 444-6791
Coal Section Supervisor, Bob Smith 444-4967
Hard Rock Operating Permit Section Supervisor, Herb Rolfes 444-3841
Opencut Permitting Section Supervisor, Chris Cronin 444-2871
Opencut Field Services Section Supervisor, JJ Conner, ACTING 444-4979



Main Number 444-9710
Petro Board Director, Terry Wadsworth 444-9712
FAX Number 444-9711
TOLL Free Number 1-800-556-5291


Main Number 444-6697
Administrator, Amy Steinmetz 444-2409
Community Operations Project Manager, Kari Smith 444-6727
Financial Manager, Cynthia Dillon 444-6755
FAX Number 444-6836

Water Quality Planning Bureau

Main Number 444-6697
Bureau Chief, Galen Steffens 444-2680
Quality Assurance Officer, VACANT 444-0371
Wetlands, 319 Grants, TMDLs, and Nonpoint Source 444-7425
Monitoring & Assessment Section Supervisor, Darrin Kron 444-4765
Water Quality Standards Section Supervisor, Myla Kelly 444-3639
Watershed Management Section Supervisor, Kristy Fortman 444-7425

Engineering Bureau

Main Number 444-4224
Bureau Chief, Kevin Smith 444-1277
Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Supervisor, Mark Smith 444-5325
Public Water Review Section Supervisor, Margarite Juarez Thomas 755-8956

Public Water Supply Bureau

Main Number 444-4400
Bureau Chief, VACANT 444-4400
Field Services Section Supervisor, Greg Butts 755-8967
Public Water Supply Monitoring & Reporting Section Supervisor, Eugene Pizzini 444-6972
Technical Services and Operator Certification Section Supervisor, Greg Olsen 444-0493
Water & Wastewater Operator Certification, Reta Therriault 444-3434

Water Protection Bureau

Main Number 444-5546
Bureau Chief, Jon Kenning 444-0420
Surface Water, Groundwater, and Storm Water Discharge Permits 444-5546
Source Water Protection Program 444-4806
Compliance and Technical Support 444-0917
401 and 318 Certification 444-2734


Main Number 444-6444
Division Administrator, Jenny Chambers 444-6383
Financial Specialist, Stacey Bradley 444-6440

Contaminated Site Cleanup Bureau

Main Number 444-6444
Bureau Chief, Terri Mavencamp 444-5595
Cleanup, Protection, and Redevelopment Section Supervisor, Katie Morris 541-9017
Petroleum Technical Cleanup Section Supervisor, Marla Stremcha 444-6419
Site Response Section Supervisor, Denise Martin 444-6578
State Superfund Section Supervisor, Moriah Bucy 444-6366
Leaking Underground Storage Tank (LUST) Hotline 800 457-0568

Federal Superfund and Construction Bureau

Main Number 444-6458
Bureau Chief, Matt Dorrington 444-6445
Section Supervisor, Bill Snoddy 444-6555
Section Supervisor, Carolina Balliew 444-0214

Waste & Underground Tank Management Bureau

Main Number 444-5300
Bureau Chief, VACANT 444-6748
Hazardous Materials Section Supervisor, Denise Brunett 444-4096
Solid Waste Management Systems Section Supervisor, Rick Thompson 444-5345
Underground Storage Tanks Section Supervisor, Emily Ewart 444-4194
Recycling Program 444-6499, 444-2835
Motor Vehicle Recycling & Disposal Program 444-3048
Septic Tank Pumpers and Land Farms 444-5345
FAX Number 444-1374