Last Update: 09/05/2023

Department of Environmental Quality

Main Office Physical Location: 1520 E Sixth Ave, Helena, MT 59601

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 200901, Helena MT 59620-0901

Department of Environmental Quality Organizational Chart

Contact information for public-facing positions at the Montana Department of Environmental Quality
Website www.deq.mt.gov
Main Number 444-2544
FAX Number 444-4386
TTY 444-6332

DIRECTORS OFFICE

Director, Chris Dorrington cdorrington2@mt.gov 444-2544
Deputy Director, James Fehr james.fehr@mt.gov 444-7423
Executive Assistant, Sandy Moisey Scherer sandy.moiseyscherer@mt.gov 444-5270

Board of Environmental Review

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 200901 Helena, MT 59620-0901

Board Secretary, Sandy Moisey Scherer sandy.moiseyscherer@mt.gov 444-5225

Public Policy, Communications, and MEPA

Public Policy Director, Rebecca Harbage rharbage@mt.gov 444-2813
Public Relations Specialist, Moira Davin moira.davin@mt.gov 444-6360
Public Relations Specialist, Kevin Stone kevin.stone@mt.gov 444-6469
Digital Media & Website Manager, Mae Vader mae.vader@mt.gov 444-0201
MEPA/MFSA Coordinator, Craig Jones crajones@mt.gov 444-0514
MEPA Coordinator, Emma Gronda emma.gronda@mt.gov 444-0219
Records & Information Requests, Daisy Dyrdahl-Roberts daisy.dyrdahl-roberts@mt.gov 444-6701

Legal Office

Main Number 444-2630
Chief Counsel, Angela Colamaria angela.colamaria@mt.gov 444-2018
Chief Remediation Counsel, Jon Morgan jmorgan3@mt.gov 444-6589
Attorney Specialist, Paul Nicol pnicol@mt.gov 444-6549
Attorney Specialist, Kurt Moser kmoser2@mt.gov 444-4009
Attorney Specialist, Jeremiah Langston jeremiah.langston2@mt.gov 444-4201
Attorney Specialist, Kirsten Bowers kbowers@mt.gov 444-4222
Attorney Specialist, Lee McKenna lee.mckenna@mt.gov 444-6559
Attorney Specialist, Patrick Hope phope@mt.gov 444-4202
Attorney Specialist, Nick Whitaker nicholas.whitaker@mt.gov 444-5690
Attorney Specialist, Sarah Christopherson sarah.christopherson@mt.gov 444-6347
Attorney Specialist, Jessica Wilkerson jessica.wilkerson@mt.gov 444-6490
Attorney Specialist, Aaron Pettis apettis@mt.gov 444-1422
Attorney Specialist, Sam King samuel.king@mt.gov 444-4961
Attorney Specialist, VACANT 444-1425
Paralegal, Catherine Armstrong catherine.armstrong2@mt.gov 444-2630
Paralegal, Loryn Johnson  loryn.johnson2@mt.gov 444-1388

Enforcement Program

Main Number 444-0379
Enforcement Program Manager, Chad Anderson chada@mt.gov 444-2964
Citizen Environmental Complaints/Spill Reporting 444-0379

Human Resources

Human Resources Manager, Christina Lipetzky clipetzky@mt.gov 444-6717
Safety Director, Larry Alheim lalheim@mt.gov 444-5382

Financial Services

Main Number 444-2442
Chief Financial Officer, Denise Kelly denkelly@mt.gov 444-4964
Contracts Officer, Vicki Woodrow vwoodrow@mt.gov 444-3101
FAX Number 444-1804

Information Technology Bureau

Chief Information Officer, VACANT 444-7424
Network Systems Supervisor, Wil Ky wil.ky@mt.gov 444-7994
Application Development Supervisor, Rob Hoffman robert.hoffman@mt.gov 444-5342
Solution Architecture Supervisor, Chris Dubois christopher.dubois@mt.gov 444-1760

AIR, ENERGY, & MINING DIVISION

Main Number 444-4323
Administrator, Sonja Nowakowski sonja.nowakowski@mt.gov 444-0496
Financial Operations Manager, Elisabeth Campbell elisabeth.campbell2@mt.gov 444-2855
FAX Number 444-1374

Air Quality Bureau

Main Number 444-3490
Bureau Chief, Bo Wilkins bo.wilkins@mt.gov 444-0286
Smoke Management Hotline 1-800-225-6779
FAX Number 444-1499
Air Quality Analysis & Planning Section Supervisor, Liz Ulrich eulrich2@mt.gov 444-9741
Air Quality Research & Monitoring Section Supervisor, Kelly Dorsi kelly.dorsi@mt.gov 444-6695
Air Quality Permitting Section Supervisor, Julie Merkel jmerkel@mt.gov 444-3626
Air Quality Field Services Section Supervisor, Jamin Grantham (Billings) jamin.grantham2@mt.gov 247-4446

Energy Bureau

Main Number 444-0281
Bureau Chief, Ben Brouwer bbrouwer@mt.gov 444-6588
Energy Efficiency and Compliance Assistance Section Supervisor, Bonnie Rouse brouse@mt.gov 444-6439
Energy Planning & Renewables Section Supervisor, VACANT 444-6459
Radon Hotline 1-800-546-0483
Small Business Assistance Hotline 1-800-433-8773

Mining Bureau

Main Number, Hard Rock Mining 444-4953
Main Number, Coal & Opencut Mining 444-4970
FAX Number 444-1499
Bureau Chief, Dan Walsh dwalsh@mt.gov 444-6791
Coal Section Supervisor, VACANT 444-4967
Hard Rock Operating Permit Section Supervisor, Eric Dahlgren edahlgren@mt.gov 444-5245
Opencut Section Supervisor, Whitney Bausch wbausch2@mt.gov 444-3403
Field Services Section Supervisor, VACANT 444-0055

PETROLEUM TANK RELEASE COMPENSATION BOARD

Main Number 444-9710
Petro Board Director, Terry Wadsworth twadsworth@mt.gov 444-9712
FAX Number 444-9711

WATER QUALITY DIVISION

Main Number 444-5546
Administrator, Lindsey Krywaruchka  lkrywaruchka@mt.gov 444-4632
Financial Manager, Megan Smith megan.smith@mt.gov 444-6755
FAX Number 444-6836

Water Quality Planning Bureau

Main Number 444-6697
Bureau Chief, Andy Ulven andrew.ulven@mt.gov 444-2680
Quality Assurance Officer, Erin Louden erin.louden2@mt.gov 444-2879
Wetlands, 319 Grants, TMDLs, and Nonpoint Source, VACANT 444-7425
Monitoring & Assessment Section Supervisor, Darrin Kron dkron@mt.gov 444-4765
Water Quality Standards Section Supervisor, Katie Makarowski kmkarowski@mt.gov 444-3639
Watershed Management Section Supervisor, Christina Staten cstaten@mt.gov 444-2836

Engineering Bureau

Main Number 444-4224
Bureau Chief, Rachel Clark rachel.clark2@mt.gov 444-1277
Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Supervisor, Sandie Koenig sandie.koenig@mt.gov 444-6770
Water Pollution Control State Revolving Fund Supervisor, Mike Abrahamson mabrahamson@mt.gov 444-6776
PWS Engineering Review Section Supervisor, Jackie Kuhl jackie.kuhl@mt.gov 444-1515
Subdivision Review Section Supervisor, Shawn Rowland shawn.rowland@mt.gov 444-6727

Public Water Supply Bureau

Main Number 444-4400
Bureau Chief, Greg Olsen gregolsen@mt.gov 444-0493
Field Services Section Supervisor, Lisa Kaufman lkaufman@mt.gov 444-5313
Public Water Supply Monitoring & Reporting Section Supervisor, Eugene (Gino) Pizzini epizzini@mt.gov 444-6972
Technical Services and Operator Certification Section Supervisor, Libby Murray-Henrikson ehenrikson2@mt.gov 444-6781
Water & Wastewater Operator Certification, Jen VandenBos jvandenbos@mt.gov 444-4584

Water Protection Bureau

Main Number 444-5546
Bureau Chief, Tatiana Davila tatiana.davila@mt.gov 444-0420
Surface Water, Groundwater, and Storm Water Discharge Permits 444-5546
Source Water Protection Program 444-4806
Compliance and Technical Support 444-0917
401 and 318 Certification 444-2734

 WASTE MANAGEMENT & REMEDIATION DIVISION

Main Number 444-6444
Division Administrator, Amy Steinmetz asteinmetz@mt.gov 444-6383
Financial Manager, Karen Anthony kanthony@mt.gov 444-2443

Tanks, Brownfields, and Federal Facilities Bureau

Main Number 444-6444
Bureau Chief, Terri Mavencamp tmavencamp2@mt.gov 444-5595
Cleanup, Protection, and Redevelopment Section Supervisor, Katie Morris katie.morris@mt.gov 541-9017
Petroleum Tank Cleanup Section Supervisor, Latysha Pankratz lpankratz@mt.gov 556-4512
Underground Storage Tanks Section Supervisor, Emily Ewart eewart@mt.gov 444-4194
Leaking Underground Storage Tank (LUST) Hotline 800 457-0568

Superfund, AML, and Construction Bureau

Main Number 444-6458
Bureau Chief, Katie Garcin-Forba katie.garcin-forba@mt.gov 444-6445
AML and Construction Services Section Supervisor, Jason Rappe (acting) jason.rappe@mt.gov 444-6802
Federal Superfund Section Supervisor, Carolina Balliew carolina.balliew@mt.gov 444-0214
Site Response Section Supervisor, Denise Martin demartin@mt.gov 444-6578
State Superfund Section Supervisor, Moriah Bucy mbucy@mt.gov 444-6366

Waste Management Bureau

Main Number 444-5300
Bureau Chief, Rick Thompson rithompson@mt.gov 444-5345
Hazardous Materials Section Supervisor, Denise Kirkpatrick dkirkpatrick@mt.gov 444-3983
Solid Waste Section Supervisor, Fred Collins fcollins2@mt.gov 444-9879
Recycling Program 444-6499, 444-2835
Motor Vehicle Recycling & Disposal Program 444-3048
Septic Tank Pumpers and Land Farms 444-9879
FAX Number 444-1374