Public Instruction, Office of

Enter Title

To search - Click control (f)

OFFICE OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

SUPERINTENDENT'S OFFICE

P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501 opisupt@mt.gov

General Information, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501

444-3095

Toll Free Number

1-888-231-9393

Web site

opi.mt.gov/

TTY 1300 11th Ave. Reception Desk

444-0235

TTY 1227 11th Ave. Reception Desk

444-0169

  

SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

1227 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, 

Helena, Montana

Superintendent of Public Instruction, Elsie.Arntzen@mt.gov, Elsie Arntzen

444-5644

Deputy Superintendent, Tim.Tharp@mt.gov, Dr. Tim Tharp

444-7325

Senior Office Administrator, Susan.Kohn@mt.gov, Susan Kohn

444-3160

Director of Education Services, Susie.Hedalen@mt.gov, Susie Hedalen

444-3449

Land Board Liaison, Patrick.Beddow@mt.gov, Patrick Beddow

444-5643

Director of Communication and Federal Relations, Dylan.Klapmeier@mt.gov, Dylan Klapmeier

444-3559

Math Project Coordinator, Penelope.Shuwarger@mt.gov, Penny Shuwarger

444-5658

Administrative Clerk, Christine.Tharp@mt.gov, Chrissie Tharp

444-5643

FAX

444-2893

 Legal Division

1227 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor,  Helena, Montana  

Chief Legal Counsel, Kyle.Moen@mt.gov, Kyle Moen

444-4399

Early Assistance Program Director, MGibbs@mt.gov, Mandi Gibbs

444-5664

Paralegal Assistant, Nicole.Hanni@mt.gov, Nicole Hanni

444-3172

Paralegal, Bemarlow@mt.gov, Bev Marlow

444-4402

FAX

444-2893

Educator Licensure (Certification) Program

1201 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Educator Licensure Program Manager, KThatcher2@mt.gov, Kristine Thatcher

444-2580

Licensing Specialist, LWeiss2@mt.gov, Lorri Weiss

444-3150

Licensing Specialist, Bflanagan@mt.gov, Bekki Flanagan

444-3150

Renewal Units/Approved Providers

444-3150

Fax

444-0743

  Human Resources  

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana 

Human Resource Manager, TAntonick@mt.gov, Tom Antonick

444-3161

Human Resource Specialist, Dmunro@mt.gov, Dennie Munro

444-2673

Human Resource Specialist, KSchaan@mt.gov, Kristy Schaan

444-2673

EEO /Title IX, TAntonick@mt.gov, Tom Antonick

444-3161

FAX

444-1369

 

EDUCATION SERVICES  DEPARTMENT

1300 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Administrative Specialist, Coordinator for U.S. Senate Youth Scholarships & CSPR Co-coordinator, TLiedes2@mt.gov, Tobie Liedes

444-2417

Reception/Referral 1300 11th Avenue, EFuller@mt.gov,  Emily Fuller

444-3693

FAX

444-1373

   Accreditation and Educator Preparation Division  

1300 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana 

Division Administrator, Lvpeterson@mt.gov, Linda Vrooman Peterson

444-5726

Director of Gifted & Talented Education, Vacant

444-4422

Professional Learning Specialist, JCruse@mt.gov, Julia Cruse

444-0769

Accreditation Program Director, PMuir@mt.gov, Patty Muir

444-4317

Accreditation Data Specialist, NMiller5@mt.gov, Nathan Miller

444-2410

Administrative Specialist, ROlson2@mt.gov, Rehanna Olson

444-3114

Data Control Technician, KVinson@mt.gov, Kimberly Vinson

444-1852

FAX

444-1373

Content Standards & Instruction

1300 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, CBartow@mt.gov, Colet Bartow

444-3583

Professional Learning Data and Information System Specialist, MO'Rourke@mt.gov, Marjorie O'Rourke

444-3538

Library-Information Literacy Instructional Coordinator, Vacant

444-3583

Science Instructional Coordinator, MMcCarthy5@mt.gov, Michelle McCarthy

444-3537

English Language Arts & Literacy Instructional Coordinator, CMock-Stutz@mt.gov, Christy Mock-Stutz

444-0736

Mathematics Instructional Coordinator, Marisa.Franklin@mt.gov, Marissa Franklin

444-0706

Teacher Learning Hub Coordinator, JBryant3@mt.gov,  Jessica Bryant

444-3557

Administrative Assistant, Warlint@mt.gov, Wanda Arlint

444-0716

FAX

444-1373

   Career, Technical, and Adult Education Division      

1300 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena Montana 

Division Administrator, Career, Technical, and Adult Education, TEyer@mt.gov, T.J. Eyer

444-7915

Accountability Specialist, CHendricks@mt.gov, Christy Hendricks

444-9019

Adult Basic & Literacy Education Unit Manager, Katie.Spalinger@mt.gov, Katie Spalinger

444-4443

Adult Education Administrative Specialist, Vacant

444-1691

Agricultural Education Specialist, Shannon.Boswell@mt.gov, Shannon Boswell

444-4451

Business and Marketing Education Specialist, ESwenson@mt.gov,  Eric Swenson

444-7991

Montana Options Program to the High School Equivalency Specialist, Vacant

444-4438

Family and Consumer Sciences Education Specialist, MVincent2@mt.gov,  Megan Vincent

444-3599

Health Science Education Specialist, RErlandsen@mt.gov, Renee Erlandsen

994-6986

Industrial Trades and Technology Education/TSA Specialist, dmichalsky@mt.gov,  Don Michalsky

444-4452

Veterans Ed Director & IHL/NCD and OJT/APP Program Manager, KGemlich@mt.gov, Kenneth Gemlich

444-4122

FAX

444-1373

Educational Opportunity and Equity Division

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, DHunsaker@mt.gov, Debbie Hunsaker

444-0733 

Title I and Federal Grants Unit Director, JOconnor2@mt.gov,  Jack O'Connor

444-3083

Title I & Homeless Specialist, HDenny@mt.gov, Heather Denny

444-2036

Title II-A, VI, & N and D Specialist, Carrie.Kouba@mt.gov, Carrie Kouba

444-0794

Administrative Assistant, SPieske@mt.gov, Shawna Pieske

444-5660

Preschool Grant Unit Director, TFerriter@mt.gov, Tara Ferriter-Smith

444-0758

Administrative Assistant, PClinch2@mt.gov, Paula Clinch

444-4431

Preschool Specialist, Jody.Lehman@mt.gov, Jody Lehman

444-2736

Preschool Specialist, MKampfe@mt.gov, Maureen Kampfe

446-0224

Preschool Specialist, Vacant

459-2304

Preschool Specialist, Vacant

444-0466

Preschool Specialist, Vacant

444-4431 

Preschool Specialist, Sally.Hicks@mt.gov, Sally Hicks

868-6983 

Preschool Specialist, JDarlington@mt.gov, Jennifer Darlington

386-2453 

Preschool Specialist, LHales@mt.gov, Lisa Hales

396-7565 

Title I Instructional Innovations Fax

444-1373

Migrant Education Director, ABranzspall@mt.gov, Angela Branz-Spall

444-2423

Migrant Administrative Assistant, Vacant

444-0906

Instructional Innovations Specialist, LTuss@mt.gov, Liz Tuss

560-7076

Instructional Innovations Team Leader, TBarclay2@mt.gov, Terri Barclay

444-0753

Administrative Assistant, SHarlow@mt.gov, Sheri Harlow

444-0864

Instructional Innovations Specialist, GPoole@mt.gov, Gwen Poole

672-3022

School Support Unit Director, KTiefenthaler@mt.gov, Kathi Tiefenthaler

444-1872

School Support/Title III Specialist, Crystal.Andrews@mt.gov, Crystal Andrews

444-3482

Administrative Assistant, LGriffin3@mt.gov, Lisa Griffin

444-0686

Title I School Support Fax

444-1373

Indian Education Division

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Indian Education Director, MBroaddus@mt.gov, Mandy Smoker-Broaddus

444-3013

Title III Director Indian Education Specialist, Vacant

444-3482

Indian Education Administrative Assistant, JFranke@mt.gov, Joan Franke

444-3694

Indian Education Specialist, SMorsette@mt.gov, Stephen Morsette

444-0754

American Indian Youth Development Coordinator, DWetzel@mt.gov, Don Wetzel

444-4527

Indian Education Specialist, Curriculum and Materials Development Lead Worker, MJetty@mt.gov,  Mike Jetty

444-0720

Indian Education Specialist, JStadum@mt.gov, Jennifer Stadum

444-0725

Indian Student Achievement Specialist, SPierce2@mt.gov, Sarah Pierce

444-0708

 Caring Schools Coordinator/SAMSHA Grant Manager, SIronShooter@mt.gov, Stephanie Iron Shooter

969-6505 

 SAMSHA Grant Administrative Assistant, KTwoTwo@mt.gov, Karla Two Two,

969-6505 

 Wraparound Coach, CRondeaux@mt.gov, Crystal Rondeaux

839-6734 

 Wrap Around Facilitator, Heidi.RunningWolf@mt.gov, Heidi Running Wolf

338-2211 Ext. 240

 Frazer Wraparound Facilitator, CJackson@mt.gov,  Christine Jackson

695-2242 

 Hays Lodge Pole Wraparound Facilitator, RLaRoque@mt.gov, Resa LaRoque

673-3120x265 

 Heart Butte School Board Coach, RStokes@mt.gov, Robert Stokes

469-2264 

 Heart Butte Transformational Leader, Vacant

444-3694 

 Hays Lodge Pole School Board Coach, THanson3@mt.gov, Todd Hanson

262-2403 

 Hays Lodge Pole Transformational Leader, DMcGee@mt.gov, Dan McGee

876-3262 

Instructional Leader, Kathy.Sharbono@mt.gov, Kathy Sharbono

214-8170

 FAX (Unit)

444-3924

Health Enhancement and Safety Division

1201 11th Avenue, 1st and 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, KBillings@mt.gov, Karin Olsen Billings

444-0829

Administrative Assistant, LWetherall@mt.gov, Leona Wetherall

444-0751

FAX

444-2955

Coordinated School Health Unit

1201 11th Avenue, 1st and 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Coordinated School Health Unit Director, TMoseman@mt.gov, Tracy Moseman

444-3000

YRBS; School Health Profiles; 1305 Grant Program Coordinator, SCourt@mt.gov, Susan Court

444-3178

Emergency Planning for Schools Coordinator; 21st Century Community Learning Center Data Specialist, Suspension/Expulsion Data Specialist, ADomino@mt.gov, Amanda Domino

444-1964

21st Century Community Learning Centers Program Coordinator, MEarnhardt@mt.gov, Mary Ellen Earnhardt

444-3519

Project AWARE Program Manager, HMook2@mt.gov, Holly Mook

444-0773

Tobacco Prevention Education Specialist, KMinard@mt.gov, Kris Minard

444-0785

FAX

444-2955

 School Nutrition Programs Unit

1201 11th Avenue, 1st Floor Helena, Montana

School Nutrition Programs Director, CEmerson@mt.gov, Christine Emerson

444-2502

School Nutrition Programs Assistant Director, TMotlas@mt.gov, Teresa Motlas

444-3532

Administrative Assistant, CHickman@mt.gov, Clay Hickman

444-2501 

Data Analyst, AlieW@mt.gov, Alie Wolf

444-4413

Summer Food Service Program Manager, EDunklee@mt.gov, Emily Dunklee

461-9917

Program Specialist, Vacant

444-3532

School Breakfast Program Manager, TRay@mt.gov, Tara Ray

431-2920

Program Specialist, JGriffin3@mt.gov, Jill Griffin

444-3574

Fresh Fruit Vegetable Program Manager, CMcGoven@mt.gov, Camille McGoven

444-4415

Food Distribution Program Manager, TBailly@mt.gov, Tessa Bailly

444-4412

FAX (School Nutrition Programs)

444-1488

 

Traffic Education Unit

1201 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Traffic Education Director, FPenner-ray@mt.gov Fran Penner-Ray

444-4396

Program Specialist, PBorneman@mt.gov, Patricia Borneman

444-4432

FAX

444-2955

Non-OPI Health

Immunization, DPHHS

444-6978

TB Testing Requirements, DPHHS

444-0275

Special Education Division

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, FPodobnik@mt.gov, Frank Podobnik

444-4428

Assistant Division Administrator, RTrerise@mt.gov, Dick Trerise

444-4429

Administrative Assistant, KBrown8@mt.gov, Kelley Brown

444-5661

Administrative Officer, MWallis@mt.gov, Marlene Wallis

444-2504

Administrative Assistant, MNiemi@mt.gov, Melissa Niemi

444-0037

Data Accountability Specialist, ARainey@mt.gov, Anne Rainey

444-4430

Data Accountability Specialist, MGraff@mt.gov, Mary Graff

444-0685

Data Accountability Specialist, JDuiker@mt.gov, Jan Duiker

444-7432

Early Assistance Program Director, MGibbs@mt.gov, Mandi Gibbs

444-5664

School Improvement Specialist, RMiller3@mt.gov, Ruth Miller

444-1579

School Climate Transformation Coordinator, Vacant

444-0923

Autism Specialist, DDoty@mt.gov, Doug Doty

459-5303

CSPD Specialist, AYoung3@mt.gov, Annette Young

444-0299

School Improvement Specialist, DMcCarthy@mt.gov, Danielle McCarthy

444-0452

School Improvement Specialist, Jenifer.Cline@mt.gov, Jenifer Cline

444-4426

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Vacant

444-5661

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Jack.Rudio@mt.gov, Jack Rudio

444-5661

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Theodore.Spas@mt.gov, Theodore Spas

444-5661

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, Margaret.Tryon@mt.gov, Margaret Tryon

444-5661

Seasonal Monitor Specialist, AVerploegen@mt.gov, Ann Verploegen

444-5661

School Improvement Unit Manager, DKimmet2@mt.gov, Dale Kimmet

444-0742

School Improvement Specialist, MSwanby@mt.gov, Marla Swanby

444-0044

School Instructional Case Manager, DCockrell-Gilsoul@mt.gov, Debra Cockrell-Gilsoul

444-3124

School Instructional Case Manager, KYork@mt.gov, Kim York

533-8228

Professional Development Unit Manager, Vacant

444-2046

School Mental Health Specialist, Vacant

444-0688

MTSS/MBI Consultant, DDesJarlais@mt.gov, Denise DesJarlais

855-2126

FAX

444-3924

   

  

DEPARTMENT OF OPERATIONS

1227 11th Avenue. 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Department of Operations Assistant Superintendent, KBailey2@mt.gov,  Ken Bailey

444-2562

Reception/Referral 1227 11th Ave, NHarrel@mt.gov, Nancy Harrel a.m. & Vonnie.Evans@mt.gov, Vonnie Evans p.m.

444-3680

FAX

444-1369

  

Measurement & Accountability Unit

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana 

Division Administrator, SMohr@mt.gov, Sue Mohr

444-0793

Data Collections Bureau Chief, JEreth@mt.gov, Jamey Ereth

444-4409

AIM Unit Manager, GHarms@mt.gov, Gail Harms

444-3494

Research & Analysis Manager, Assessment, SFurois@mt.gov, Scott Furois

444-3545

Research & Analysis Manager, Achievement Gap, EMeredith@mt.gov, Eric Meredith

444-3642

Research & Analysis Manager, Preschool Program, Vacant

 

EOE Research Analyst, Silvana.Hackett@mt.gov, Silvana Hackett

444-7490

Research & Analysis Manager, Title Programs, DJ.QuirinMai@mt.gov, DJ QuirinMai

444-4434

Data Information Specialist, ABoehm@mt.gov, Andy Boehm

444-0375

Home/Private Schools Information Coordinator, Vacant

444-6774

AIM Help Desk/Student Records CStandall@mt.gov, Candi Standall

444-3495

NAEP State Coordinator, AMcGrath@mt.gov, Ashley McGrath

444-3450

AIM Help Desk/Student Records, JStraw2@mt.gov, Jennifer Straw

444-0714

State Assessment Director, JEilertson@mt.gov, Jessica Eilertson

444-3656

Assessment Coordinator, YField@mt.gov, Yvonne Field

444-0748

Assessment Administration Specialist, MFortner@mt.gov, Marcy Fortner

444-3511

Fax

444-3924

 

Measurement & Accountability Unit

326 Washington Drive, 1st & 2nd Floor Helena, Montana

MDUC Project Manager, BCarter2@mt.gov, Brett Carter

444-2080

Research & Analysis Manager, K-20 Project, DBruce2@mt.gov, Daniel Bruce

444-1610

School Staffing Project Manager, DMurphy@mt.gov, Danielle Murphy

444-1625

GEMS Stakeholder Liaison, Robin.Clausen@mt.gov, Robin Clausen

444-3793

Business Analyst, JHamilton@mt.gov, Joe Hamilton

444-0475

Database Administrator, JMassman2@mt.gov, Jake Massman

444-0715

Centralized Services Division

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, JPhillips3@mt.gov, Jay Phillips

444-4523

Accounting Supervisor, CMcMilin@mt.gov, Charlotte McMilin

444-2561

Accounts Receivable/Federal Reporting, HZimmer@mt.gov, Heather Zimmer

444-1961

Budget Analyst, LLake@mt.gov, Lynnette Lake

444-2563

Budget Analyst, Barbara.Quinn@mt.gov, Barbara Quinn

444-2563

Graphic Design Specialist, ELeidl@mt.gov, Ellen Leidl

444-4424

Ed Facts Coordinator, EArredondo@mt.gov, Elle Arredondo

444-3471

E-Grants Coordinator, KBeagles@mt.gov, Karla Beagles

444-0764

Payroll, CLoomis2@mt.gov, Carol Loomis

444-4407

Contract and Procurement Manager, CMonroe@mt.gov, Carol Monroe

444-4404

State and Federal Grants Accountant, LBlanton@mt.gov, Leisa Blanton

444-4403

Procurement Technician, RNielsen@mt.gov, Randy Nielsen

444-3504

State and Federal Grants Accountant, JTenneson@mt.gov, Juli Tenneson

444-3408

Accounting Technician, WWilliams2@mt.gov, Whitney Williams

444-0768 

Accounting Technician, PNiemi@mt.gov, Patty Niemi

444-3692

Mail Room, LCook2@mt.gov, Lee Cook

444-3148

FAX

444-1369

   
  

School Finance Division

1227 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, KSperle2@mt.gov, Kara Sperle

444-3249

Auditor, Dan.Moody@mt.gov, Daniel Moody

444-0701

Budget Analyst, PTaylor2@mt.gov, Paul Taylor

444-1257

Financial Specialist, MHaefka@mt.gov, Maria Haefka

444-1960

Financial Specialist, KWanner@mt.gov, Kathleen Wanner

444-9852

Financial Specialist, nmerala@mt.gov, Nica Merala

444-4401

Financial Specialist, DRosenthal@mt.gov, Donell Rosenthal

444-3024

Financial Specialist, NThuotte@mt.gov, Nicole Thuotte

444-4524

Financial Specialist, Vacant

444-0783

Computer Support Specialist, DCasey@mt.gov, Deb Casey

444-3096

FAX

444-0509

 

  Information Technology Services Division

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Division Administrator, Vacant

444-0709

School Computer Equipment Program, SBuswell@mt.gov, Scott Buswell

495-9695

FAX

444-1369

Network Services Bureau

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Network Services Bureau Chief, MSoto@mt.gov, Manuel Soto

444-3031

Database Administrator, DPeterson2@mt.gov, Don Peterson

444-3539

Network Administrator, BObie@mt.gov, Barry Obie

444-9690

Network Administrator, MMurray3@mt.gov, Mike Murray

444-3536

Security Officer, AGrover@mt.gov, Alan Grover

444-3502

Security Technician, KHaslehurst@mt.gov, Kelli Haslehurst

444-3448

Desktop Systems Analyst, DDickson2@mt.gov, Dylan Dickson

444-0087

Help Desk Technician, BYbarra@mt.gov, Briana Ybarra

444-0087

FAX

444-1369

Resource Center/Web Integration Bureau

1300 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Librarian, ARobbins2@mt.gov, Annika Robbins

444-2082

FAX

444-3924

Systems Development Bureau

1227 11th Avenue, 1st Floor, Helena, Montana

Systems Development Bureau Chief, MSweeney@mt.gov, Michael Sweeney

444-4411

Computer Systems Analyst, CTenneson@mt.gov, Cindie Tenneson

444-1962

Computer Systems Analyst, LGeske@mt.gov, Lynnette Geske

444-9860

Business Analyst/Project Manager, ABauer@mt.gov, Anne Bauer

444-0727

Business Analyst/Project Manager, CPennington@mt.gov, Carmen Pennington

444-0726

Computer Systems Analyst, VThacker@mt.gov, Vicki Thacker

444-9870

Computer Systems Analyst, CSwank@mt.gov, Cindy Swank

444-0730

Business Analyst/Project Manager, TSteinke@mt.gov, Tara Steinke

444-4607

Computer Systems Analyst, RHoffman2@mt.gov, Robert Hoffman

444-1641

Computer Systems Analyst, SMeredith@mt.gov, Steve Meredith

444-3563

Web Developer, JAndrew@mt.gov, Janet Andrew

444-2765

FAX

444-1369